Gurjit Singh Dhani, Ahmed Huwel and Tufail Amin Credit: Courtesy
[/media-credit] Gurjit Singh Dhani, Ahmed Huwel and Tufail Amin Credit: Courtesy

The second round of the Tanzania National Rally Championship (TNRC) took course over the weekend with thirteen drivers in contention for the Vaisakhi Rally win in Moshi.

However, it was Gurjit Singh Dhani and Shameer Yusuf on top of the rally in their Subaru GVB.

Gurjit covered the 137.36km distance in 1hour 43minutes and 33seconds to claim victory. The win was spiced up with two stages wins.

Gurjit and Yusuf now go level on points with Dharam Pandya on the national standings with 25 points after two rounds.

Ahmed Huwel finished in second position with three stage wins. Huwel partnered with former Tanzania Rally Champion driver Jamil Khan to finish eleven seconds behind overall winner Gurjit.

Tufail Amin and Victor Jackson sealed the podium dash in third place overall; moving to forth position on the standings with 23 points.

[/media-credit] Nadeem Daudi Credit: Courtesy

Nadeem Daud and Maisam Fazal cruised their Mitsubishi Evo X to fourth overall followed by Aliasger Fazal in fifth.

Despite finishing sixth overall, Rajpal Singh Dhani and Riyaz Ismail collected enough points to elevate them to the top of the leaderboard.

Rajpal sits top with 26points; a point ahead of his brother Gurjit and Pandya.

The next round of the TNRC will head to Iringa on the weekend of 12-13th May.

TNRC standings after Moshi

  1. Rajpal Singh Dhani/Riyaz Ismail – 26 points
  2. Dharam Pandya/Moses Matovu – 25
  3. Gurjit Dhani/Shameer Yusuf – 25
  4. Tufail Amin/Victor Jackson – 23
  5. Aliasger Fazal/Awadh Bafadhil – 22
  6. Ahmed Huwel/Jamil Khan – 18
  7. ShaneAbbas/Ally Hamoud – 15
  8. Nadeem Daud/Maisam Fazal – 12
  9. Hassan Ramzan/Yusuf Juma – 10

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think