Rhinos vs. Warriors Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

1st Kisubi Rugby 7s Circuit

  • Saturday, 14th April 2018
  • At Kisubi University
[/media-credit] Domestic rugby action Credit: Grip Rugby | Zahara Abdul

The first ever Kisubi Rugby 7s circuit will take place on Saturday, 14th April 2018 at Kisubi University.

A total of nine teams are confirmed for this day long championship.

These are; Makerere University – Kampala, Uganda Martyrs University Nkozi, Kampala International University (Kampala campus), Kampala International University (Ishaka Campus), Nkumba University, Ndejje University, University of Kisubi, Survey Institute, Entebbe and a guest team – the Jengo boys (Entebbe Mongers Under 19 TEAM).

According to the tournament technical director cum referees manager, Peter Kirunda Basadhansolo, the tournament will be held on an annual basis;

This will be an annual arrangement starting with the 2018 edition where we have managed a total of 9 teams. There are two groups that will be played on a round robin basis before the quarter finals, semis and finals (bowl and plate) will take effect.


  • Makerere University, Kampala
  • Uganda Martyrs University Nkozi
  • Nkumba University
  • Survey Institute, Entebbe
  • Kampala International University, Ishaka Campus


  • University of Kisubi
  • Kampala International University, Kampala campus
  • Ndejje University
  • Jengo boys


  • 9:00 AM – Makerere University VS Nkumba University
  • 9:20 AM-  University of Kisubi vs Jengo boys
  • 9:40 AM-  Uganda martyrs university Nkozi vs Survey institute, Entebbe
  • 10:00 AM-  K.I.U Kampala vs Ndejje University
  • 10: 20 AM-  K.I.U Ishaka vs Makerere University
  • 10: 40 AM – Ndejje University vs University of Kisubi
  • 11: 00 AM – NKUMBA University Vs Survey institute
  • 11: 20 AM – Jengo Boys vs K.I.U Kampala
  • 11: 40 AM –  Uganda Martyrs University vs K.I.U Ishaka
  • 12:00 PM – Survey institute vs Makarere University
  • 12:20 PM – University of Kisubi vs K.I.U Kampala
  • 12:40 PM – Uganda Martyrs university vs Nkumba university
  • 01:00 PM –  Nkumba University vs K.I.U Ishaka
  • 1:40 PM Ndejje University vs Jengo boys
  • 1:20 PM -Makerere University vs Uganda Martyrs Uuniversity Nkozi
  • 2:00 PM – – K.I.U  Ishaka VS Survey institute

10 MINUTES BREAK (Music Interlude and entertainment}

  • 30pm Quarter final 1 – Winner group A VS 4TH PLACE Group B
  • 2:50PM quarter final 2 – Winner Group B vs 4th place Group A
  • 3:10 PM Quarter final 3 –  2ND GROUP A VS 3RD Group B
  • 3:30PM Quarter final 4 –  2nd Group B VS Third Group A

10 MINUTES BREAK (Music Interlude and entertainment}

  • 4:00pm Plate semi final one. Loser game 17 vs Loser game 19
  • 4:20pm Plate semi final two Loser game 18 vs loser game 20
  • 40pm Main Cup semi Final one. Winner Game 17 vs Winner Game 19
  • 5:00pm Main Cup Semi Final two Winner Game 18 Vs Winner Game 20

10 Minutes Break (Music Interlude and entertainment)

  • 30pm Plate Final. Winner game 21 vs Winner game 22
  • 5:50pm Main cup final. Winner game 23 VS Winner game24.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think