Julius Poloto Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

CAF U-20 Qualifiers (Return Leg):

  • Saturday, 21st April 2018
  • South Sudan vs. Uganda (Juba Stadium in Juba) – 4 pm

*Uganda leads 5-1 from the first leg

[/media-credit] Allan Okello in action against South Sudan Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

The Uganda National U-20 team (The Hippos) will lock horns with South Sudan in the return leg of the CAF U-20 qualifiers on Saturday, April 21, 2018.

Coming to the match, Uganda Hippos have a 5-1 advantage from the first leg.

In the opening leg played at the Star Times stadium, Lugogo, Uganda Hippos scored through Mustapha Kizza (penalty), Steven Mukwala, Sadam Masereka, Hamis Tibita and a wonder goal by Allan Okello.

Proline defender Musitafa Mujjuzi diverted a long ball from goalkeeper Ramadan Ding past Uganda’s Keni into the net for the visitors’ consolation strike.

[/media-credit] South Sudan U20 line-up against Uganda Hippos Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
[/media-credit] Uganda Hippos line-up vs. South Sudan Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Uganda Hippos head coach Mathias Lule is focused for the game and asserts the game is not yet complete;

“The job is still half complete. From the first leg played in Kampala, we scored five goals but the job is yet to be complete” Lule said.

Left back Mustafa Kizza is ruled out for the game having got a red card in the first leg.

[/media-credit] Allan Okello and Mustafa Kizza. Kizza misses the return leg because of the red card Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Lule recruited three new faces to add on the team that played in Kampala.

St Mary’s Kitende left back Robert Kitabalwa, KCCA Junior Team’s Herbert Achai and Kataka F.C Ivan Eyam are the three new faces who traveled with the team on Friday morning.

The team trained at Juba stadium on Friday evening as a prerequisite for the pre-match customs.

[/media-credit] Steven Mukwala celebrates during the first leg Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

The winner on aggregate will qualify to the next round, and will face Cameroon.

The Final 18 man traveling team:

  • Goalkeepers: Keni Saidi (Proline), Denis Otim (Nyamityobora)
  • Right Back: Paul Willa (Police), Fred Okot (URA)
  • Left Back: Robert Kitabalwa (St Mary’s Kitende), Herbert Achai (Kibuli S.S and KCCA Junior Team)
  • Defenders: Musitafa Mujjuzi (Proline), Geofrey Wasswa (Vipers), Bashir Asiku (Vipers)
  • Holding Midfielders: Abubaker Kasule (Buildcon, Zambia)
  • Offensive midfielders: Julius Poloto (KCCA), Allan Okello (KCCA), Frank “Zaga” Tumwesigye (Vipers), Joshua Okiror (Proline)
  • Forwards: Steven Mukwala (Vipers), Saddam Masereka (Buddo S.S), Faizal Ssekyanzi (St Mary’s Nabweru), Ivan Eyam (Amusi College and Kataka F.C)

Match Officials:

  • Center Referee: Georges Gatogato (Burundi)
  • Assistant Referee 1: Herve Kakunze (Burundi)
  • Assistant Referee 2: Gustave Baguma (Burundi)
  • Fourth Official: Thierry Nkurunziza (Burundi)
  • Match Commissioner: Sylvester Kirwa (Kenya)
  • Security Officer: Rachid Medjiba (Algeria)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think