Denis Onyango has agreed a four and a half year new deal at Sundowns [Photo: Aisha Nakato] Credit: © Kawowo Sports / AISHA NAKATO

South Africa Premiership:

  • Mamelodi Sundowns 3-1 Ajax Cape Town
[/media-credit] Mamelodi Sundowns players celebrate their success on Saturday Credit:

Uganda Cranes captain and first choice goalkeeper Dennis Onyango was part of the Mamelodi Sundowns’ team that lifted the 2017/18 ABSA Premiership title for the club’s 8th time.

Christened the Masandawana, Sundowns recovered from a goal down to edge Ajax Cape Town 3-1 at the Lucas “Masterpieces” Moripe stadium on Saturday to be declared champions with one game to play.

Sundowns have accumulated 59 points from 29 matches, seven points adrift of second placed Orlando Pirates.

Onyango featured for the entire duration of the game watched by a lively crowd.

Zimbabwean international Khama Billiat, Brazilian Ricardo dos Santos Nascimento (penalty) and South African international Sibusiso Vilakazi scored for Pitso Mosimane’s side in the 11th, 28th and 35th minutes repectively.

Left back Mosa Lebusa had given Cape Town City the lead onto two minutes before the gallant response from the Brazilians.

This is Mamelodi Sundowns’ 8th league title since the 1997/1998 season.

The yellow brigade has also won in 1998/1999, 1999/2000, 2005/2006, 2006/2007, 2013/2014and lately in 2017/18.

[/media-credit] Mamelodi Sundowns players carry aloft their coach Pitso Mosimane in excitement Credit: Sundowns Media

In particular, this is Onyango’s third league crown with Mamelodi Sundowns since he joined from Mpumalanga Black Aces in 2011.

In 2016, Onyango was named the best player of the Year (Based in Africa) as well as the first choice goalkeeper on the CAF select team of the same year.

His club, Mamelodi Sundowns won the Club of the Year as Uganda Cranes came ahead of 2016 CHAN champions DR Congo and Senegal for the national team of the year.

In the 2015/2016 season, Onyango was also named the best PSL goalkeeper.

[/media-credit] Denis Onyango Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Different League titles for Mamelodi Sundowns:

  • 1997/1998
  • 1998/1999
  • 1999/2000
  • 2005/2006
  • 2006/2007
  • 2013/2014
  • 2015/2016
  • 2017/2018

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think