Egypt starting XI vs Uganda Cranes at AFCON 2017 Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE
[/media-credit] Morocco and Nigeria players sing the national anthems prior to kick off. The two countries will both recieve $2M each Credit: CAF Media

Each of the five African countries that qualified for the coveted 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia will receive an advance of US$ 2M (Ug.shs 7,432,000,000.00) of their prize money from Federation of International Football Associations (FIFA).

Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia are each assured of the money which is meant to assist these respective countries towards their preparations for the global greatest sporting fiesta.

The decision comes on the heels of negotiations initiated by CAF President Ahmad with the FIFA administration, leading to the exceptional agreement granted on 12th April 2018.

It follows a decision by the CAF Emergency Committee held on 1 December 2017, and ratified by the CAF Executive Committee on 10 January 2018, to provide exceptional financial support to the five African representatives towards their preparations for the impending tournament in Russia.

CAF President Ahmad noted as quoted by CAF Online;

This agreement, for an advance on the financial allocation by FIFA, aims to allow representatives in World Cups to have a harmonious preparation and to settle beforehand the question of bonuses due the players, which in the previous editions of the competitions has led to situations that affected badly the image of African football, with a considerable impact on team performances

The five teams have thus been directed to contact the FIFA Financial Division in that regard.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think