The Kabaka inspects the Nte players prior to kick off of last year's final with Ffumbe

2018 Bika Bya Baganda Football Championship:

Official opening match:

  • Saturday, 12th May: Lugave Vs Mpindi
  • At St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende (3:30 PM)
The Kabaka inspects the Nte players prior to kick off of last year’s final with Ffumbe

There is growing excitement, as well as high expectations as the days clock nearer to the official opener of the 2018 Bika Bya Baganda football championship.

For starters, the King of Buganda, His Majesty Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II blesses this tournament with a guest appearance at the start and climax.

This year round, is no exception.

Kabaka Mutebi II will grace the official opening match as Lugave meet Mpindi in a duel expected to be a cracker.

The kingdom minister of sports, leisure and recreation, Owek. Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu duly confirmed the development;

The Kabaka is pleased to officiate at the opening ceremony of this year’s Bika Bya Baganda Football opening match when Lugave plays Mpindi at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende. This is a great stadium and to the people of Busiro as well as the entire Kingdom, the Kabaka will be pleased to meet his loyal subjects.

Preparations to have a great colourful opening ceremony are on-going with the latest development being a guided tour visit to the St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende on Monday by the local organizing committee accompanied by the sports minister within the kingdom.

“The stadium is ready and other preparations are well. I must thank Dr Lawrence Mulindwa for the great gesture to host the official opening match at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende. The people of Busiro Ssaza are also blessed and should turn up in big numbers to welcome Bbeene (The Kabaka) as well as the rest of the subjects.” Ssekabembe noted.

Both clans (Lugave and Mpindi) are former winners and would definitely add to their trophy cabinet.

Lugave will assemble an array of stars as Uganda Cranes striker Abraham Ndugwa, KCCA’s Muzamiru Mutyaba, the returning Sulaiman Mutyaba, Dona Mutyaba, Misi Katende, left footer Ezikiel Katende, Karim Ndugwa, Simon Ssemwogerere among others.

Mpindi’s prodigal sons Yudah Mugalu and Brian Majwega will be at the fore front to work out for a decent result on the day.

When the two clans last faced on 19th July 2016, Mpindi smiled at the close of business for 90 minutes with a hard fought 1-0 win.

Lugave last won the championship in 2004 as Mpindi were winners in 2006.

The descendants of Ndugwa, Lugave won in 1988, 1990, 1995, 1998, 1999 and lately in 2004.

Mpindi’s only two title are in 1996 and ten years later in 2006.

Nte (cow) clan is the defending champion after edging Ffumbe 1-0 in the 2017 final at the Bukalasa Agricultural college play ground in Wobulenzi, Luweero.

Nte had also won the shield in 2016 after overcoming Balangira 5-4 in post match penalties after normal time had ended goal-less.

Mmamba Gabunga are the record title holders with 10 crowns.

Nyonyi Nyange humbled Ngabi Nsambi 50-38 to lift the 2017 netball championship.

Joshua Lubwama of Ffumbe was appointed as the most valuable player in the football competition last season as Halima Nakachwa was named the best netballer.

The tournament has been played since 1950 and draws excitement within the Buganda Kingdom.


  •  1950:Mbogo
  • 1951:Ngabi Nsamba
  • 1952:Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1953: Not Held
  • 1954:Not Held
  • 1955:Kkobe
  • 1956:Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1957: Nyonyi Nyange
  • 1958: Ngeye
  • 1959: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1960: Ffumbe
  • 1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe
  • 1962: Nkima
  • 1963: Not Held
  • 1964: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1965: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1987: Ngabi Nsamba
  • 1988: Lugave
  • 1989: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1990: Lugave
  • 1991: Ngeye
  • 1992: Ngeye
  • 1993: Nkima
  • 1994: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1995: Lugave
  • 1996: Mpindi
  • 1997: Nnyonyi
  • 1998: Lugave
  • 1999: Lugave
  • 2000: Mpologoma
  • 2001: Ngo
  • 2002: Mpologoma
  • 2003: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2004:Lugave
  • 2005: Ffumbe
  • 2006: Mpindi
  • 2007: Ngabi Nsamba
  • 2008: Kkobe
  • 2009: Ffumbe
  • 2010: Nte
  • 2011: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2012: Ngeye
  • 2013: Ngabi Nsamba
  • 2014: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2015: Mbogo
  • 2016: Nte
  • 2017: Nte

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think