St Mary's Stadium, Kitende Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2018 Bika Bya Baganda Football Tournament:

Opening Match

  • Saturday, May 12, 2018
  • Lugave Vs Mpindi
  • At St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende (3:30 pm)
  • Entry Fees: 5,000/= (Ordinary) & 10,000/= (VIP)
[/media-credit] Inspection of the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Monday ahead of Saturday’s Bika football opening match between Lugave and Mpindi Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The local organizing committee for the 2018 Bika Bya Baganda football championship has assured the populous of an efficient organization ahead of the official opening match when Lugave hosts Mpindi at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

On Monday, the organizing committee once again conducted a second guided tour of the match day venue (St Mary’s Stadium) with the media.

Led by the Buganda Kingdom minister of sports, leisure and recreation, Owek. Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu, the organizers have urged the general public to turn in large numbers to welcome the Kabaka and as well, grace the official opening match.

[/media-credit] Owek. Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Ssekabembe also assured of good security prior to, during and after the match;

The preparations have so far progressed for the better. I urge many people to come and watch the official opening match for this year’s Bika Bya Baganda championship. We encourage as many people as people as possible to come in early and avoid the last minute rush. Security has been beefed up ahead of the official opening match before, during and after the match

Chairperson of the organizing committee, Sulaiman Magala rallied upon all the Buganda Kingdom subjects to grace the official opening match;

It is a big honour to be working and serving on this committee. I call upon the Buganda Kingdom subjects to come in big numbers

Buganda Sports minister Owek. Ssekabembe (red tie) leads the inspection exercise of St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Magala’s message was reechoed by his vice Eric Kironde during a special press conference after the guided tour around the St Mary’s Stadium.

The match is being promoted by Abitex promotions Limited.

Kabaka Mutebi II will grace the official opening match as Lugave meet Mpindi in a duel expected to be a cracker.

When the two clans last faced on 19th July 2016, Mpindi smiled at the close of business for 90 minutes with a hard fought 1-0 win.
Lugave last won the championship in 2004 as Mpindi were winners in 2006.

The descendants of Ndugwa, Lugave won in 1988, 1990, 1995, 1998, 1999 and lately in 2004.

Mpindi’s only two title are in 1996 and ten years later in 2006.

Nte (cow) clan is the defending champion after edging Ffumbe 1-0 in the 2017 final at the Bukalasa Agricultural college play ground in Wobulenzi, Luweero.

Nte had also won the shield in 2016 after overcoming Balangira 5-4 in post match penalties after normal time had ended goal-less.

[/media-credit] Buganda officials inspect the St Mary’s Stadium facility on Monday ahead of the 2018 Bika grand opener Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Mmamba Gabunga are the record title holders with 10 crowns.

Nyonyi Nyange humbled Ngabi Nsambi 50-38 to lift the 2017 netball championship.

Joshua Lubwama of Ffumbe was appointed as the most valuable player in the football competition last season as Halima Nakachwa was named the best netballer.

[/media-credit] Buganda officials during a press conference at St Mary’s Stadium Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The tournament has been played since 1950 and draws excitement within the Buganda Kingdom.

Opening Day Tentative Programme:

  • 8: 00 a.m: Gates open at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende
  • 10: 00 am: Teams arrival at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende
  • 1:30 pm: Invited Guests arrive
  • 2:00 pm: VIP Guests arrive
  • 2:45 pm: Katikiro (Prime minister) Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga
  • 2:50 pm: Team warm ups start
  • 3:00 pm: Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II Arrival
  • 3:15 pm: Kabaka Mutebi II Inspects the teams
  • 3:30 pm: Kick off (Lugave Vs Mpindi)


  • 1950:Mbogo
  • 1951:Ngabi Nsamba
  • 1952:Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1953: Not Held
  • 1954:Not Held
  • 1955:Kkobe
  • 1956:Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1957: Nyonyi Nyange
  • 1958: Ngeye
  • 1959: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1960: Ffumbe
  • 1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe
  • 1962: Nkima
  • 1963: Not Held
  • 1964: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1965: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1987: Ngabi Nsamba
  • 1988: Lugave
  • 1989: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1990: Lugave
  • 1991: Ngeye
  • 1992: Ngeye
  • 1993: Nkima
  • 1994: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1995: Lugave
  • 1996: Mpindi
  • 1997: Nnyonyi
  • 1998: Lugave
  • 1999: Lugave
  • 2000: Mpologoma
  • 2001: Ngo
  • 2002: Mpologoma
  • 2003: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2004:Lugave
  • 2005: Ffumbe
  • 2006: Mpindi
  • 2007: Ngabi Nsamba
  • 2008: Kkobe
  • 2009: Ffumbe
  • 2010: Nte
  • 2011: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2012: Ngeye
  • 2013: Ngabi Nsamba
  • 2014: Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2015: Mbogo
  • 2016: Nte
  • 2017: Nte

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think