Entebbe Mayor Vincent Kayanja De Paul hands over the trophy to jubilant Kiggungu Mapeera players and officials at Works Play ground Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2018 Entebbe Mayor’s Cup:

  • Men Final: Kiggungu Mapeera 1 (5) – 1 (4) Viva La Vie, Katabi
  • Most Valuable Player: Jonathan Wamala (Viva La Vie)
  • Women Final: Taggy Girls 0 (5) – 0 (4) Dynamic Girls

Kiggungu Mapeera Football team outwitted Katabi based Viva La Vie to win the inaugural Entebbe Mayor’s Entebbe at the Works play ground in Entebbe Division A.

[/media-credit] Entebbe Mayor Vincent Kayanja De Paul hands over the trophy to jubilant Kiggungu Mapeera players and officials at Works Play ground Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The Kiggungu sub ward team recovered from a goal down to force the game into post-match penalties, winning the 5-4 in the tense penalty lottery watched by a passionate large crowd.

Allan Ssemakula scored deep in the second half to cancel Viva La Vie’s lead at the onset of the closing stanza.

The month long tournament was organized by the mayor of Entebbe Municipality Vicent Kayanja De Paul primarily for all the FUFA licensed clubs within the Lake Victoria peninsular town.

Kayanja was privileged to have with the support from Chinese city Wuhan as all the participating clubs were given footballs, playing boots, shin guards and a set of jerseys.

Addressing the fans at half time of the final, Kayanja lauded the spirit upon which the tournament was organized with particular thanks to the team managers, players, fans and the media.

[/media-credit] Entebbe Municipality local leaders. The Mayor Vincent Kayanja De Paul is standing third from left Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Kayanja, a DP leaning politican noted;

This will be an annual tournament where we want to create a plat form to show case talent. The exceling players will be taken to Wuhan City in China as promised by the Mayor of Wuhan. I thank the residents of Entebbe Municipality, the teams, their leaders, players, fans and the media for the best organization.

Jonathan Wamala, an area councilor and teacher at Entebbe Parents S.S was named tournament Most Valuable Player for his tireless efforts.

Wamala was instrumental in Viva La Vie’s journey through the group stages to the finals.

Allan Ssemakula of Kiggungu Mapeera finished with three goals to take the top scorers gong.

Still, Mapeera’s Robert Mugisha was best goalkeeper, Manyango’s Samuel Obilo was most disciplined player as Entebbe Leopards Football Club was the most disciplined team.

[/media-credit] Taggy Girls hold their their trophy Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE
Taggy Girls recieve their balls at the prize giving ceremony Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Experienced football coaches in Entebbe Municipality Richard Tamale Kiwanuka Pinto, Ronald Malooba and Robert Kakanga alongside Kayanja’s personal assistant Muhammod Muyomba were the brains behind the technical arm to ensure a smooth organization from day one.

The technocrats were also tasked with the job of selecting the 34 outstanding players who will be part of the Entebbe Municipality team to China.

Meanwhile, Taggy Girls Team overcame Dynamic S.S in the girls’ football charity match.

The winning team was rewarded with a glittering trophy and gold medals plus two balls.

[/media-credit] Entebeb Division B Chairman Stanley Namayirira Kapere hands over the MVP reward to Councilor Jonathan Wamala Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The runners up got silver medals and two balls as well. The third placed side, Red Roosters also got two balls.

The Entebbe Mayors’ Cup will be an annual championship.

At the same time, a village football tournament is soon commencing with the purpose of accommodating the unlicensed players with FUFA approved clubs as well as the teenagers.

The first two mini galas were held over the weekend at Katabi Gombolola and Kiwafu play grounds.

[/media-credit] Mapeera goalkeeper Robert Mugisha recieves his award for being best goalkeeper of the Entebbe Mayor’s Cup Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The selected players:

Goalkeepers: Robert Mugisha, Saidi Tijan, Benton Matovu, Salim Onde

Defenders: Elvis Kiberu, Masorro, Chris Okocha, Robinson Ssemugenyi, Baker Ssempijja, Y. Ngobi, Charles Kivumbi, Godfrey Muwaya, Julius Ssebalu

Midfielders: Allan Katimbo, Emma Okadda, Tonny Sabwe, Vincent Tusiime, Yoweri Kisakye, Kalema Richard, Eddy Mukama, Josia Milo, Sam Obilo, Saidon Bogere, Philemon Nsubuga, Emmanuel Wanyama

Strikers: Abdul Hussein, Neymar Ashraf, Allan Ssemakula, Fred Katende, Salim Muhammed, Jonathan Wamala, Mande Nico, Sula Abbasi

Individual Awards:

  • Most Valuable Player (MVP): Jonathan Wamala (Viva La Vie, Katabi)
  • Top Scorer (Three Goals): Allan Ssemakula – Kiggungu Mapeera
  • Best Goalkeeper: Robert Mugisha (Kiggungu Mapeera)
  • Most Disciplined player:  Samuel Obilo (Manyago)
  • Most Disciplined Team: Entebbe Leopards Football Club

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think