Buddu is vying for another final against Ssingo Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2018 Airtel Masaza Football Tourney:

Semi-finals (Return Legs) – Sunday, 7th October

  • Buddu Vs Busujju – Masaka Recreational Stadium, Masaka (4 PM)

*Buddu leads 1-0 from first leg

  • Buwekula Vs Ssingo – Kasenyi play-ground, Mubende (4 PM)

*Ssingo leads 2-0 from first leg

[/media-credit] Buddu is vying for another final against Ssingo Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Buddu and Ssingo Ssaza teams are favourites to progress for the finals of the 2018 Airtel Masaza Football Cup tournament.

The two former Airtel Masaza cup winners carry the advantage and impetus to make the final grade at this year’s championship final.

This followed their respective victories during the first leg of the semi-finals played on Sunday, 23rd September 2018.

Ssingo defeated Buwekula 2-0 at the Mityana Ssaza play ground with tournament top scorer Jude Ssemugabi notching a brace in the well attended game.

Ssemugabi, who has just been signed by Uganda Premier League outfit Mbarara City Football Club has now scored eight goals in the tournament.

The other semi-final between hosts Busujju and Buddu ended 1-0 in favour of the visitors.

Lanky striker Frank Ssebufu scored the price-less goal in the 27th minute.

This was Ssebufu’s 5th goal in the competition.

The return legs of the semi-finals will be played on 7th October 2018.

Buwekula will host Ssingo at the Kasenyi play ground in Mubende district as Buddu will entertain Busujju at the Masaka Recreational Stadium.

The final, which will be graced by the King of Buganda Kingdom, His Majesty, Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II shall be played at Mandela National Stadium on Saturday, 27th October 2018.

Gomba has won the championship a record four times in 2004 during the inaugural edition, 2009, 2014 and last year (2017).

Telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda proudly sponsors this tourney that has witnessed the emergency of promising footballing talents in Uganda.

A wide variety of players have featured in the Masaza cup and have been exposed before being poaches by second tier, regional and top flight clubs.

Many have surpassed the bare minimum and made the Uganda Cranes grade as Farouk Miya, Godfrey “Jajja Walu” Walusimbi, Yassar Mugerwa, Kezironi Kizito, Alex Kakuba, Robert Odongkara, Sula “Malouda” Matovu to mention but afew.

Quarter finals (Return legs):

  • Busujju 2-1 Gomba (Aggregate: 2-1)
  • Ssingo 0-0 Bulemeezi (Aggregate: 1-0)
  • Buddu 0-0 Kyaggwe (Aggregate: 2-0)
  • Buwekula 1-2 Mawokota (Aggregate: 3-2)

Previous Winners:

  • 2017: Gomba
  • 2016: Buddu
  • 2015: Ssingo
  • 2014: Gomba
  • 2013: Mawokota
  • 2012: Bulemeezi
  • 2011: Buluuli
  • 2010: Not Held
  • 2009: Gomba
  • 2008: Kyadondo
  • 2007:Mawokota
  • 2006:Kooki
  • 2005:Mawokota
  • 2004: Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply