2018 Airtel Masaza Cup

Third place:

  • Buwekula 0-1 Busujju


  • Ssingo 1 (12) – 1 (11) Buddu

Top Scorer:

  • Jude Ssemugabi (Ssingo) – 8 Goals
Busujju players and officials celebrate after recieving their bronze medals and Shs 5M dummy cheque from Prime Minister Katikiro Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga. They beat Buwekula 1-0 in the early kick off KAWOWO SPORTS

Busujju out-witted Buwekula 1-0 during a classification match to determine the  third place finisher at the apex of the 2018 Airtel Buganda Masaza football championship at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole on Saturday.

Nasir Sadam Kakooza was the hero, scoring the lone goal on the day in the second stanza of the well-attended game, an early kick off before the main match – Ssingo versus Buddu.

Before the goal, Busujju had expressed the early intent, urgency, determination, zeal and urge to score – playing “fancy sexy” football.

In fact, John Ssempijja would have scored earlier on for Busujju but his goal was disallowed following an off-side call.

Action between Busujju (black) and Buwekula during the third place play off match

Charles Musiige the best chance for Buwekula in the opening stanza with a chance blew away in the 20th minute following a one against one incident with Busujju goalkeeper Shatif Magola in an acute angle.

Half time of this game which kicked off at mid-day produced no goals for either sides.

In the second half, Buwekula had a brilliant start with fluid and confidence at ball distribution.

Buwekula skipper Jamil Kisitu Nvule who had a busy day at office threatened in the 62nd minute but the Busujju defence of Donato Okello, Abdul Swalik Mugenyi, Youngman Marvin and Evans Musiime was equal to the task in thy midst.

Kakooza found the decisive goal in the 68th minute and it necessitated gallant defending to protect the lead.


Busujju thus smiled home with bronze medals and Shs 5M courtesy of the sponsors, Airtel Uganda Limited.

Losing side Buwekula got Shs 3M.

Meanwhile, the 2018 tournament was won by Ssingo who defeated Buddu 12-11 in a tense post match shoot out following a one all draw in normal time.

His Majesty Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II handed over the glittering trophy to Ssingo captain Edward Satro, gold medals and a dummy cheque of Shs 10M.

Jude Ssemugabi of Ssingo finished with 8 goals to take home the best scorers’ gong, a reward of a brand new motor bike.

Airtel Uganda Limited proudly bankrolls the Buganda Masaza football championship, now a talk of town across the country for its magnetic appeal to the fans across the divide.

Team Line ups:

Buwekula XI: Ben Ssegazi (G.K), Bishop Orom, Isaac Kiwanuka Pele, Tom Tonny Lubulwa, Paul Kato, John Ssempijja, Simon Katumba, Jamil Nvule Kisitu (Captain), Raymond Waugembe, Ivan Bogere, Derrick Mudali

Subs: Derrick Kasumba (G.K), Yiga Najib, Sadiq Ssekyembe, John Ben Nakibinge, Douglas Oree, Martin Mutyaba, Livingstone Mbigo


  • Head coach: Denis Kiyimba
  • Assistant coach: Simon “Dunga” Ddungu
  • Team manager: Joseph Kiyonga
  • Team Doctor: Tonny Nyunga
  • Official: Joseph Kyambadde

Busujju XI: Sharif Magola (G.K), Donato Okello (Captain), Abdul Shaburo Mugenyi, Joseph Makuro Youngman, Evans Musiime, Abraham Atuhaire, Eddy Matovu, Sadam Nasir Kakooza, Charles Musiige, Ronald Ssempala, Ibrahim Rasinde

Subs: Ashraf Lubega (G.K), Gerrard Ogweti, John Michael Opio, Rashid Mukungu, Polito Busuulwa, Timothy Ssempiira, John Sseguya


  • Head coach: Noah Mugerwa
  • Assistant Coach: Peter Sibo
  • Team manager: David Kalwanga Lukyamuzi
  • Team doctor: Joseph Ssentamu
  • Official: Tonny Ssenabulya


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here