T20 Cup Finals Summary

Aziz Damani 140/8 in 20 overs beat KICC 109/10 in 18.1 Overs by 31 runs.

  • Batting Damani: Saud Islam 47(36), Kenneth Waiswa 24(18), Emmanuel Isaneez 17(15)
  • Bowling KICC: Falak Shah 3/26 in 4 overs, Karashani Davis 2/23 in 4 overs, Irfan Afridi 2/33 in 4 overs
  • Batting KICC:Waseem Butt 68(37), Davis Karashani 12(13)
  • Bowling Damani: Riazat Shah 4/17 in 4 overs, Bilal Hassun 2/13 in 3.1 overs

Man of match: Riazat Shah

Individual Accolade Winners

  • Player of Series: Waseem Butt (KICC)
  • Best Batsman: Suleman Sharif (KICC)
  • Best Bowler: Dhansukh Jesani (Kutchi Tigers)
  • Best Fielder: Jonathan Ssebanja (Ceylon Lions)
  • Best Wicket: Keeper:Abdala Ssezoba (Ceylon Lions)
Franklin Kaweru | Kawowo Sports Aziz Damani won the T20 Cup

Aziz Damani snatched victory from the jaws of defeat in the semifinal clash against Ceylon Lions. With 35 required off 15 balls for the win, Ceylon Lions looked set for the final till they ran out of bowling options for the final over. 

Captain Jonathan Ssebanja had to turn to part time Simon Ssesazi for the final over and he failed to defend 12 runs with Bilal Hassun making up for his poor display with the ball in the 1st innings by hitting the winning runs for the Division 1 Champions.

Bilal hit back-to-back fours to seal the win for Damani with two balls to spare to put the Division 1 champions in their first ever T20 final. This semifinal clash provided value for money for the handful of cricket fans who braved the early morning rain to go to Kyambogo. 

The other semifinal was an anti climax as a delay in start of play reduced the game to just nine overs part side. Challengers the favorites to win it were surprised by KICC who managed to defend 93 runs in nine overs. The Challengers power game failed to live up to expectations as the spin duo of Frank Nsubuga and Irfan Afridi spun webs around the Challengers batsmen. 

KICC eventually managed to knocked out the defending champions winning by 18 runs to book their third T20 final against Damani. 

Franklin Kaweru | Kawowo Sports KICC were runners-up

The final played in the afternoon at the University Oval in Kyambogo had little pomp with only the power game of Wasim Butt putting on a show.

Damani won the toss choosing to bat first with their Saud Islam (47) leading from the front to help them post a competitive 140 in their 20 overs. 

Wasim Butt then single handedly took the game to Aziz Damani even when wickets kept falling around him, he brought up his half century off only 17 balls. Once Damani picked up his wicket for a well played 68 off only 37 balls the writing was clearly on the wall for KICC. They were eventually bundled out for 109 to give Damani their second of the season.

The win meant both the ladies and men’s sides of Aziz Damani have won everything on the local scene. 

The T20 title was the first for Aziz Damani who had failed on previous editions. They take over from Challengers who had won the title for the last two years. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here