Allan Kayiwa
Allan Kayiwa was the hero with the lone strike in Tooro United’s 1-0 home win over league newcomers Ndejje University at the Buhinga Stadium

Uganda Premier League (Friday Results):

Tooro United 1-0 Ndejje University

KCCA 6-3 Police

Onduparaka 0-0 Mbarara City

Allan Kayiwa is a talisman of sorts at Tooro United Football Club.

Of times, he has lifted the club to greater heights with outstanding individual brilliance.

Such was the case as Wasswa Bbosa’s charges faced Uganda Premier league debutants Ndejje University at the Buhinga Stadium in Fort Portal on Friday.

Kayiwa struck a block buster from 25 yards in the 21st minute as they jealously protected their lead to the end.

This was the fifth league goal for Kayiwa in 14 games.

Attempts by Raymond Komakech to fight for at least a point hit a dead end despite introducing holding midfielder Bernard Katetemera for Peter Ouma as early as the 25th minute.

Later in the second half, creative midfielder Baden Mujahid (on loan from Vipers and Fredrick Male were also brought on board to no avail.

Bbosa whose last game was that goal-less draw away to Vipers also made the same change he called at St Mary’s  a week ago, bringing on Baker Buyala for the burly center forward Steven Omvia.

Referee Joseph Ochom cautioned Ndejje University captain Ronald Odokonyero and Robert Eseru as well as Isa Lumu and Musa Mukasa for Tooro United.

Tooro United earned their fourth victory of the season, remaining in the 11th position with 17 points.

Ndejje University suffers their 10th loss of the campaign and drop to 15th on the log as they remain with only 8 points.

Next encounters:

Tooro United winds up the first round at home against Bright Stars.

Meanwhile, Ndejje University will also play on the road, against Express at the Mutesa II Wankulukuku Stadium on Thursday 10th January.

Team Line Ups:

Tooro United XI:

Joel Mutakubwa, Musa Mukasa, Isa Mubiru, Mike Kawooya, Isa Lumu, Paddy Muhumuza, Willy Kavuma, Steven Luswata, Allan Kayiwa, Steven Omvia, Davis Ssali


Meddie Kibirige (G.K), Timothy Musinguzi, Joshua Kaliisa, Ibrahim Ayub Kizza, Baker Buyala, John Toki Byamukama

Ndejje University XI:

Eric Kibowa, Ronald Sekubomba, Isaa Mubiru, Edward Kabona, Ronald Odokonyero, Paul Ddumba, Deboss Kalama, Peter Ouma, Robert Eseru, Emmanuel Wasswa, Noel Nasasira


Jeans Wokorach (G.K), Bernard Katetemera, Fred Male, George Akena, Baden Mujahid, Simon Ngore, Francis Onekalit

Head coach: Raymond Komakech

Match Officials:

Center Referee: Joseph Ochom

Assistant Referee 1: Ashraf Miiro

Assistant Referee 2: Fahad Ssekayuba

Fourth official: Muzamiru Tulu

Commissioner: Hassan Basiisa

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply