Rita Akot Apell won group B ladies: PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE
Ibrahim Bagalana smiles with his group A trophy at the 18th green ceremony. PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

2019 Singleton Match Play Challenge qualification group winners:


  • Group A (0-9): Ibrahim Bagalana (H/C 5) – 68 Gross
  • Group B (10-18): Collins Bulafu (H/C 13) – 69 Nett
  • Group C (19-28): Kenneth Kiddu (H/C 28) – 68 Nett (Countback)


  • Group A (0-18): Wendy Angudeyo (H/C 17) – 65 Nett
  • Group B (19-36): Rita Akot Apell (H/C 21) – 68 Nett

The qualification round for the 2019 Singleton Match Play Challenge championship was a complete success at the par 71 course of Entebbe Golf Club.

With a total of 218 golfers having graced the day long championship at the lake side golfing facility, attendance was top notch in the very first tournament of the seven month-long championship.

The qualification round was intended to seek 60 pairs (124 golfers) ahead of next month’s round one action that will attract a total of 64 pairs with 128 golfers.

In fact, the pairing of golfers was executed moments after the completion of the qualification round whose theme night was ‘Life in the Caribbean’.

Guests and golfers were thrilled by the legendary Madoxx Ssematimba during the 19th hole celebrations. PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

Top performers:

Ibrahim Bagalana, playing off handicap 5 toppled the rest in group A (handicap 0-9) with an amazing score of 68.

Rodell Gaita Tadeo and Herman ‘Deco’ Mutebi were first and second respectively.

Collions Bulafu (handicap 13) won group B whilst Kenneth Kiddu took group C.

Wendy Angudeyo (right) is hugged by Pinnacle Security M.D Moses Matisko. Angudeyo won group A ladies. PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

Under the ladies, Wendy Angudeyo (H/C 17) returned 65 Nett to win group A ahead of Lucia Alinda (H/C 15) with 70 Nett and Jenina Nasimolo (H/C 11) who had 72 Nett.

Rita Akot Apell (H/C 21) scored 68 Nett to lead group B.

Rita Akot Apell won group B ladies: PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

Handicap 21 golfer Caroline Namutebi with 70 nett as well as handicap 29 Suxanne Kateeba (71 nett) were runners up and first runners up respectively.

The top performers received their prizes besides the 18th green before the official party kicked off at the famous 19th hole with merry making as spiced up by the Singleton and entertainment from the legendary Madox Ssematimba.

Deco Herman Mutebi (right) was first runners up group A men. PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

No lucky golfer managed to win the brand new pajero sport car staked by Mitsubishi (fully insured by Afrisafe) for the hole in one shot.

In some of the pairings, defending champions who earned a direct ticket to take part Peace Kabasweka will still play with Shiela Kesiime.

Caroline Namutebi gets her prizes from HTC’s John Basabose during the prize giving ceremony. Namutebi was runners up in group B. PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

Collins Odere will play alongside Caroline Namutebi and Kiryowa Kiwanuka will play with Elly Mukasa.

Others are; Samuel Kato and Charles Odere, Enock Nuwagaba and Paul Nsereko, Barnabas Bakamuntumaho with Robert Sabiiti, Grace Njeri with Ruth Mugisha, Edward Kabuchu and Andrew Kibaya, Oscar Ssemawere with Marvin Kagoro, Tim Mwanda and Suubi Kiwanuka, Silver Rugambwa and Ashraf Bagalana, Lucia Alinda alongside Bridget Nakamoga as well as Hebert Mwetemba with Street Club’s director Ali Jjuuko, among others.

Round one will tee off on 16th February 2019 at Entebbe Golf Club.

For starters, the winning pair will make it to the 2019 Desert Classic tournament in Dubai.

Managing Director of UBL, Mark Ocitti with a speech. PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

We are glad for the overwhelming turn up for the qualification round. As the main sponsors, we are always honoured. We promise for the best championship ever.

Mark Ocitti, Managing Director, Uganda Breweries Limited

The Singleton match play golf championship is an interesting tournament. For the qualification round, the pass mark was playing basic golf with minimal mistakes as usual. I am happy to have won group A despite a slow start on the front 9

Ibrahim Bagalana, winner group A men
Ibrah Bagalana, the group A men winner during a post match interview by the media. PHOTO: DAVID ISABIRYE

2019 Singleton Qualification Round top performers:


Group A (0-9) :

  • Winner: Ibrahim Bagalana (H/C 5) – 68 Gross
  • Runners up: Rodell Gaita Tadeo (H/C 2) – 69 Gross
  • 2nd Runners up: Deco Mutebi (H/C 01) – 71 Gross

Group B (10-18):

  • Winner: Collins Bulafu (H/C 13) – 69 Nett
  • Runners up: Colline Odere (H/C 12) – 71
  • 2nd Runners up: Charles Kagombe (H/C 13) – 70

Group C (19-28):

  • Winner: Kenneth Kiddu (H/C 28) – 68 Countback
  • Runners up: Patrick Drate (H/C 28) – 68
  • 2nd Runners up: Paul Kaheru (H/C 19) – 71


Group A (0-18):

  • Winner: Wendy Angudeyo (H/C 17) – 65 Nett
  • Runners up: Lucia Alinda (H/C 15) – 70 Nett
  • 2nd Runners up: Jenina Nasimolo (H/C 11) – 72 Nett

Group B (19-36):

  • Winner: Rita Akot Apell (H/C 21) – 68 Nett
  • Runners up: Caroline Namutebi (H/C 21) – 70
  • 2nd Runners up: Suxanne Kateeba (H/C 29) – 71 Nett

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think