Lady Cricket Cranes celebrate
Lady Cricket Cranes celebrate

Forty (40) players have been summoned by Uganda Cricket to start training ahead of the Women’s T2O World Cup qualifiers to be played in Zimbabwe from 3rd – 13th May 2019.

The 40 ladies who have been selected all feature for local league sides.

High has up to eight players in the training squad, Jinja SSS has seven,
last season’s double winners Aziz Damani have six players, Pioneer and Soroti Challengers also have six each, KICC (3), Premier (2) while Wanderers and Ceylon have a single player . 

Former captain Barbara Mukankusi returns to the side on the back of a strong 2018 season with her side, Pioneer. High’s Damalie Busingye also makes a come back after nearly three years. 

The team will be split into two, with one group training in Jinja and handled by Habib Mugalula while the other group will train at Lugogo handled by Micheal Ndiko.

The Lady Cricket Cranes upset Zimbabwe in a pulsating final in September 2017 in Windhoek, Namibia a feat that earned them a spot to at the Global Qualifiers in the Netherlands in 2018. 

However, their performance at the maiden appearance in the Global Qualifiers was poor, managing to pick two wins and finished 6th of the eight nations that took part. 

 Full Training Squad. 

  1. Rita Musamali
  2. Janet Mbabai
  3. Rachael Ntono
  4. Immaculate Nakisuyi
  5. Joyce Mary Apio
  6. Stephanie Nampiina
  7. Franklin Najjumba
  8. Getrude Chandiru
  9. Kevin Awino
  10. Consy Aweko
  11. Carol Namugenyi
  12. Patricia Malemikia
  13. Ester Ilukor
  14. Damalie Busingye
  15. Evelyn Ayipo
  16. Irene Alumo
  17. Leona Babirye
  18. Teddy Ayella
  19. Maria Kagoya
  20. Kevin Amuge
  21. Barbara Mukankusi
  22. Janet Nakiranda
  23. Hope Wanichan
  24. Claire Mushakamba
  25. Mackenzie Ayato
  26. Proscovia Alako
  27. Gloria Abukor
  28. Eunice Alungat
  29. Brenda Nabisalu
  30. Lynet Nakato
  31. Patricia Munguryek
  32. Maria Mwesigye
  33. Rachael Achan
  34. Sarah Walaza
  35. Sarah Akiteng
  36. Susan Kakai
  37. Shakira Saddick
  38. Mary Akello
  39. Charity Nyokaru
  40. Eunice Kobusingye

Franklin Kaweru is the Editor in Chief of Kawowo Sports. He is an ardent basketball enthusiast.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think