Jacob Kiplimo Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
Jacob Kiplimo after a powerful kick to win the men senior race at Tororo Golf Course

2019 National Cross Country championship:

Top performers:

Senior Race (10KM):

  • Winner (Men): Jacob Kiplimo
  • Winner (Women): Stellah Chesang

Junior Races:

  • Winner (Men – 8 KM): Hosea Kiplangat (Arua)
  • Winner (Women – 6KM): Sarah Chelangat (Uganda Wildlife Authority)

Jacob Kiplimo continued his impressive form by winning the 2019 National Cross Country championship, beating Joshua Cheptegei during the highly competitive senior men 10km race at the Tororo Golf course on Saturday.

The current world record holder for the fastest 10KM event ever run (26:41), Kiplimo proved he remains the man of the moment with a powerful kick.

Kiplimo was racing for his club, Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA), coming ahead of Police’s Cheptegei and Arua club’s Albert Chemutai.

Police’s Stella Chesang won women’s senior race ahead of KCCA’s Rachael Zena Chebet and Prisons’ Esther Chebet.

Other winners on the day included Ronald Musagala in the 2km men category, Esther Chebet for the 2km women, Sarah Chelangant (6km women) as Hosea Kiplagant took the 8km race for men.

At least 200 participants took part in the half day championship.

A provisional team will be invited to camp in preparation for the World Cross Country Championship in Aarhus, Denmark on 30th March 2019.

2Km Women

  1. Esther Chebet (Prisons)
  2. Dorcus Ajok (Prisons)
  3. Sylvia Chelangat (Police)

2Km (Men)

  1. Ronald Musagala (UWA)
  2. Daniel Kiprop (Prisons)
  3. Rashid Etiau (UWA)

Junior Women – 6km

  1. Sarah Chelangat (UWA)
  2. Annet Chesang (UWA)
  3. Esther Chekwemoi (Police)
  4. Leya Chelangat (KCCA)
  5. Rebecca Chelangat (Prisons)
  6. Joy Cheptoyek (Arua)
  7. Sharon Chekwemboi (Arua)
  8. Scarlett Chebet (Police)
  9. Aisha Chebet (Arua)
  10. Ruth Mande (Standard)

Junior Men – 8km

  1. Hosea Kiplangat (Arua)
  2. Dan Chebet (Arua)
  3. Matthew Chekwurui (Police)
  4. Samuel Kibet (Sprinters sports)
  5. Ali Chebures (UWA)
  6. Victor Kwemboi (Police)
  7. Abel Boniface Sikowo
  8. Oscar Chelimo (Arua)
  9. Denis Cherotich (Arua)
  10. Titus Kwemoi (Prisons)

Senior Women – 10km

  1. Stella Chesang (Police)
  2. Rachael Zena Chebet (KCCA)
  3. Esther Chebet (Prisons)
  4. Dorren Chesang (UWA)
  5. Juliet Chekwel (UWA)
  6. Peruth Chemutai (Police)
  7. Emilly Chebet (UPDF)
  8. Viola Chemos (Arua)
  9. Linet Chebet Toroitich (UWA)
  10. Dorren Chemutai (Prisons)

Senior Men – 10km:

  1. Jacob Kiplimo (UWA)
  2. Joshua Cheptegei (Police)
  3. Albert Chemutai (Arua)
  4. Thomas Ayeko (KCCA)
  5. Joel Ayeko (Prisons)
  6. Maxwel Rotich Kortex (KCCA)
  7. Moses Kibet (KCCA)
  8. Victor Kiplangat (Police)
  9. Phillip Kipyeko (Prisons)
  10. Fred Musobo (Arua)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think