Big crowd Entebbe Marathon 2019 (Photo: David Isabirye)
Former Nkumba University Guild President Madinah Zalwango (right) smiles as finishes the race (Photo: David Isabirye)

2019 Sinocham Entebbe Marathon:

Overall winners:


  • Men: Andrew Biegon (Stanbic Uganda) – 1:04:41
  • Women: Priscilla Chelangat – 1:25:09

10 KM:

  • Men: Gonzaga Sebuuma (UAFA) – 31:17
  • Women: Febia Chemutai (Police) – 42:26

5 KM:

  • Men: Oscar Yonzim (UAF)
  • Women: Martha Nabugosili (Entebbe Parents)

The 2019 edition of the ever improving Sinocham Entebbe Marathon was held on Saturday, 30th March around Entebbe Municipality.

Mayor Vincent De Paul Kayanja (center) took part in the 2019 Sinocham Entebbe Marathon (Photo: David Isabirye)
Entebbe Division ‘B’ Chairman Kapere Namayirira (middle) completed the 10KM race (Photo: David Isabirye)

As early as 6 AM, runners from all walks of life were already assembled at the Botanical Gardens area.

The limbering session commenced as every participant arrived well in time of the 7 AM flag off.

At least 1500 runners took part in the three catergories – 5KM, 10KM and 21 KM as well as the small route for the children around the Botanical Gardens.

Some of the primary school pupils in a warm up exercise before the marathon (Photo: David Isabirye)

The main aim for the marathon was to raise funds towards the improvement of UPE schools within Entebbe Municipality.

The 15 schools targeted are; Lake Victoria, St Agnes, Kiwafu, St Theresa’s, Kiggungu, St Joseph Katabi, Changsha, Airforce, Bugonga Boys, Chadwick Namate, Nakiwogo, Nsamizi, Child Welfare, Kiwafu Muslim and Marine Base.

St Agnes Primary School pupils and teachers celebrate with Mayor Kayanja after the marathon (Photo: David Isabirye)

The mayor of Entebbe Municipality, Vincent De Paul Kayanja is the main architect of this marathon and believes the intended goals were far reached.

I thank the residents and well-wishers who took part in the 2019 Sinocham Entebbe Marathon. The proceeds like well stated, are for the schools who do their own accountability. The school committees come up with a viable project.

Vincent De Paul Kayanja, Entebbe Municipality
A Chinese Citizen helps a young runner during the Sinocham Entebbe Marathon (Photo: David Isabirye)

Politicians, businessmen, students, sportsmen and the pupils took part in the marathon.

All the age catergories from as young as 5 years to the aged (85 year old) all took part in the early morning marathon that was punctuated by rains towards the end.

85 year old grand mother Maria Nakacwa Namatovu defied all the odds and participated as well (PHOTO: David Isabirye)
A mother helps a son to the finishing line (Photo: David Isabirye)
Andrew Biegon with the finishing kick in the 21 KM race (Photo: David Isabirye)

Andrew Biegon, running for Stanbic Bank Uganda won the main race, covering 21 KM in 1 hour, four minutes and 41 micro second ahead of Alfred Kiptoyek of Uganda Wildlife Authority (1:07:05).

Priscilla Chelangat won the women 21 KM version ahead of Prison’s Hellen Chemutai.

Gonzaga Ssebuuma and Febia Chemutai won the male and female 10 KM races respectively.

Martha Nabugosili won the 5KM women race (Photo: David Isabirye)

In the 5 KM race, Oscar Yonzim was the best male ahead of Edmon Jamunu as Martha Nabugosili beat Hilda Chebet to the tape in the female category.

The 10 KM runners at the starting point (Photo: David Isabirye)

The Sinocham Entebbe Marathon is an annual event that is always well attended by Entebbe Municipality residents and well wishers.

Former footballers Latima Katabira (left), Kayemba enjoyed the 2019 Sinocham Entebbe Marathon (Photo: David Isabirye)

Top performers:



  • Winner: Andrew Biegon (Stanbic Uganda) – 1:04:41
  • Runners up: Alfred Kiptoyek (Uganda Wildlife Authority) – 1:07:05
  • 1st Runners up: Robert Lubega (Mityana) – 1:07:31


  • Winner: Priscilla Chelangat – 1:25:09
  • Runners up: Hellen Chemutai (Prison) – 1:26:50
  • 1st Runners up: Sarah Chemutai – 1:31:31

10 KM:


  • Winner: Gonzaga Sebuuma (UAFA) – 31:17
  • Runners up: Primo Agotre (UPDAF) – 32:23
  • 1st Runners up: Robert Mugarra (Rubaga) – 33:01


  • Winner: Febia Chemutai (Police) – 42:26
  • Runners up: Concy Akello (KCCA) – 49:42
  • 1st Runners up: Anna Ayantu – 51:53:25

5 KM:


  • Winner: Oscar Yonzim (UAF)
  • Runners up: Edmon Jamunu (UAF)
  • 1st Runners up: Brian Baguma (Airforce)


  • Winner: Martha Nabugosili (Entebbe Parents)
  • Runners up: Hilda Chebet (Entebbe Parents)
  • 1st Runners up: Faith Byara (Lake Victoria Primary School)
Alex Gitta and Mugisha Muntu also took part in the 10 KM race (Photo: David Isabirye)
Former Entebbe Health FC striker Ismael Chandler with the sister Dresha Shaban (PHOTO: David Isabirye)
Former Express goalkeeper Richard Tushabe (left) was among the runners (Photo: David Isabirye)
A gentleman ran with his pet. (Photo: David Isabirye)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. A very big shout out to every participant and for the sponsors…we as Entebbe residents are so humbled and grateful!
    Looking forward to participating in the 4th edition!

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply