The new Uganda Rugby Union (URU) Executive Committee for 2019-2023 time lag
The new Uganda Rugby Union (URU) Executive Committee for 2019-2023 time lag

The Uganda Rugby Union (URU) elected Godwin ‘Tonchu’ Kayangwe as the new president for a four year tenure, with immediate effect till 2023.

Pirates Rugby club’s Kayangwe overcame Kyambogo University’s Ivan Semuwemba 44-9 in a one sided contest at the union’s elective assembly held at Noble View hotel in Ntinda on Sunday, 14th April 2019.

Kayangwe replaces Andrew Owor who has been president for six years.

He will be deputized by Oscar Olara on the technical affairs and Peter Magona (commercial).

Peter Odong is the honorary secretary as Simon Mutama remains honorary treasurer.

Dorothy Nekesa is the tag rugby representative and Regina Luyolo becomes the women’s representative on the executive.

Vian Matisko is the up country representative.

The new executive will be tasked to consolidate on the gains of the previous regime as well as clean up the grey areas that would have existed.

The Elections and politicking time is over. Now is the era to embark on work. I will focus on youth development of the game as well as spread the game further to the countryside. Also, there is need to maintain the existing sponsors in the game and lure as many as possible.

Godwin Kayangwe, Uganda Rugby Union President Elect

The four year tenure for the new administration takes immediate effect and will eclipse in 2023.

Uganda Rugby Union Executive Committee (2019 – 2023)

  • President: Godwin Kayangwe
  • Vice President Technical: Oscar Olara
  • Vice President Commercial: Peter Magona
  • Hon. Secretary: Peter Odong
  • Hon. Treasurer: Simon Mutama
  • Age Grade Representative: Dorothy Nekesa
  • Women’s Representative: Regina Luyolo
  • Up Country Representative: Vian Matsiko

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think