Farouk Miya battles Lesotho's Tsoarelo Bereng at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole. Miya has been in great shape at his club Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
Farouk Miya battles Lesotho’s Tsoarelo Bereng at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole (Photo: John Batanudde) Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

COSAFA Cup 2019:

May 25th – 8th June

Host country: South Africa (Durban)


  • A: Angola, eSwatini, Comoros, Mauritius
  • B: Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi, Seychelles

Quarter finals:

  • Lesotho Vs Uganda
  • Zimbabwe Vs Group A Winner
  • South Africa Vs Botswana
  • Zambia Vs Winner B

Uganda Cranes will optimally use the COSAFA 2019 tournament as a perfect rehearsal for the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Tournament coming up in June and July.

Uganda is a guest country at this year’s COSAFA tourney and will face Lesotho in the quarter finals.

According to the organizers, the six top ranked countries will kick start the tournament at the quarter final stage.

These are; Lesotho, Uganda, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Botswana and Zambia.

Uganda and Lesotho are fresh from battling in the recently concluded AFCON 2019 qualifiers where the two countries were in group L.

Uganda beat this Southern Africa country home and away, triumphing 3-0 at Mandela National Stadium in Kampala and also winning 2-0 away from home.

Lesotho lineup that started against Uganda away in Maseru. They lost 2-0 Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO
Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre will be grateful for the COSAFA invite well in time as he needs to assemble a perfect AFCON and CHAN squad

South Africa faces Botswana in the other quarter final contest.

Zimbabwe eagerly awaits to encounter the group A winner.

Meanwhile, the group B leader will battle Zambia.

Group A has countries as Angola, eSwatini, Comoros and Mauritius.

Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi and Seychelles constitute group B teams.

Players as Godfrey ‘Jajja Walu’ Walusimbi could be thought of to get in shape ahead of AFCON 2019

The tournament will kick off on May 25th and wind down by 8th June in South Africa.

Zimbabwe (2000, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2017, 2018) has the most titles (six) since the tournament inception in 1997.

South Africa (2002, 2007, 2008, 2016) and Zambia (1997, 1998, 2006, 2013) have four championships apiece.

Angola follows with three (1999, 2001, 2004) whilst Namibia has won once in 2015.

Other countries that have been invited as guests previously are Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Madagascar and Tanzania.

Last year, Uganda was also invited for the COSAFA Women championship.

In 2017, the Uganda U-20 team (The Hippos) played at the COSAFA U-20 tournament alongside Egypt as the other guest country.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think