Pirates won the Kyadondo Sevens Credit: Pivot Media
(Photo: Twitter | Pirates Rugby) Credit: Twitter | Pirates Rugby

The 2019 National Rugby Sevens series will kick off at Kyadondo Rugby Club, with Toyota Buffaloes hosting the first circuit.

The Uganda Rugby Union announced on Saturday that the national series will kick-off on Saturday, May 25.

Last year, there was a circuit in Mbarara and the 2019 series will have circuits in two up-country towns of Masaka and Mbale.

Pirates swept everything there was to win last year including the National 7s having won the circuits hosted by Heathens, Jinja Hippos and Rhinos.

The Black Pearls, won the Ladies crown in 2018.

2019 National Rugby Sevens Schedule

  • Saturday 25th May 2019 – Buffaloes 7s (Kyadondo)
  • Saturday 1st June 2019 – Buddu 7s (Masaka)
  • Saturday 15th June 2019 – Henry Rujumba Memorial 7s, hosted by Black Pirates at Kings Park, Bweyogerere
  • Saturday 6th July 2019 – Heathens 7s (Kyadondo)
  • Saturday 20th July 2019 – Coronation 7s, hosted by Rhinos at Legends
  • Saturday 3rd August 2019 – Jinja 7s (Dam Waters)
  • Saturday 17th August 2019 – Mbale 7s (Mbale)
  • Saturday 24th August 2019 – Edward Kitaka Memorial 7s, hosted by Betway Kobs at Legends.

Franklin Kaweru is the Editor in Chief of Kawowo Sports. He is an ardent basketball enthusiast.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply