David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Buddo S.S Team that won the 2019 Wakiso District Football finale (Photo: David Isabirye)
  • Event: Copa Football Tournament 2019
  • Dates: Monday, 6th – Saturday 18th May
  • Venue: Jinja play grounds (Host school is Jinja College)

The 2019 Copa football championship will officially kick off at Jinja College School on Monday, 6th May 2019.

The screening of the players as well as the draws for the tournament exercise was conducted on Sunday.

Defending champions Buddo Secondary School was drawn in group H alongside giants Kibuli S.S, Busoga College Mwiri, Mulusa Academy Wobulenzi, Akii Bua, Alliance High School and Rock High School, Tororo

David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Saint Mary’s Kitende S.S team are favourites to win this tournament

Star studded St Mary’s Kitende is in group H where they are with the same schools as; Nakaseke International, Hill View S.S, Mbarara High, Fort Portal S.S, Iganga Parents and Ngora High School.

Host school Jinja College is in group C. The other group C schools are; Kigezi College Butobero, Royal Giant – Mityana, Mbale Progressive, Sentah College Mbarara, St Andrew Kaahwa, Loro S.S and St Johns Mukono.

North East runners up Amus College will battle with St Henry’s Kitovu, Kawempe Muslim, Kamwenge S.S, Nyangiliya S.S. Layibi and St Julian Gayaza in group F.

The screening exercise of players was completed with success. The games will kick off on Monday, 6th May 2019 in Jinja. Everything is set for the championship to move on well.

Kennedy Mutenyo, organizer
David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Standard High Zana will be in group D
David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Kakungulu Memorial and Kawempe Muslim in action during the Kampala final at Old Kampala S.S play ground (Photo: David Isabirye)

The tournament will be played over two weeks across the different fields in Jinja.

A wide range of players have graduated through this famous tournament to the clubs and the Uganda Cranes.

Players as Ibrahim Ssekagya, Richard Malinga, Joseph Ochaya, Kezironi Kizito, Faruku Miya, Muhammed Shaban, Allan Okello, Silver Ochaya, Zakariya Lubega, Mike Mutyaba, Erisa Ssekisambu, Moses Waiswa, Benjamin Ochan, Denis Iguma and many others played this tournament.

Group A:

  • Restore High School
  • St Andrews Lugazi
  • St Mary’s Rushoroza
  • Seke S.S, Kinoni
  • Kapchorwa Standard
  • St Kaggwa Bushenyi
  • High Standard Kateera
  • Jinja Progressive Academy

Group B:

  • Lugazi Homeland
  • Abim S.S
  • Bulo Parents
  • Nabongo S.S
  • Kakungulu Memorial School
  • St Paul S.S
  • Jinja S.S

Group C:

  • Kigezi College Butobero
  • Royal Giant – Mityana
  • Mbale Progressive
  • Sentah College Mbarara
  • St Andrew Kaahwa
  • Jinja College
  • Loro S.S
  • St Johns Mukono

Group D:

  • Kisozi Seed
  • Busende Memorial
  • Uganda Martyrs High School, Lubaga
  • Mandela S.S
  • St Augustine Paidha
  • Lira Town College
  • Standard High School, Zana

Group E:

  • Hill View S.S
  • Mbarara High
  • Fort Portal S.S
  • Iganga Parents
  • Nakaseke International
  • St Mary’s Kitende
  • Ngora High School

Group F:

  • Kawempe Muslim
  • Kamwenge S.S
  • Nyangiliya S.S
  • Layibi
  • St Julian Gayaza
  • Amus College
  • St Henry’s Kitovu

Group G:

  • Kitara Model
  • Nile High
  • Arshbishop
  • Kawempe Royal
  • Kashenyi S.S
  • Masaka S.S
  • Tororo Town College
  • Ryakasinga Che

Group H:

  • Busoga College Mwiri
  • Akii Bua
  • Buddo S.S
  • Alliance High School
  • Mulusa Academy Wobulenzi
  • Rock High School, Tororo
  • Kibuli S.S



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here