The Confederation of African Football has revealed the Total Africa Cup of Nations, Egypt 2019 ambassadors with seven African legends named for duty.

© Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE Cameroon, AFCON 2017 Champions!

The Afcon finals will be held between June 21 and July 19 in Egypt and the chosen legends fit the bill.

Mahmoud El Khateeb (Egypt), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba (Both Cote d’Ivoire), Rabeh Madjer (Algeria), Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria) and El Hadji Diouf (Senegal) are the ambassadors for the continent’s biggest football competition.

Here is a brief profile of each of the seven (7) ambassadors as per the CAF website

Mahmoud El Khateeb

Ismael Kiyonga | Kawowo Sports Mahmoud El-Khatib

Ranked among the best African players of all time, El Khateeb was the first Egyptian to win African Player of the Year in 1983. “Bibo” as he is fondly called among Egyptian supporters won the Africa Cup of Nations with Egypt at home in 1986.

Samuel Eto’o

Franklin Kaweru | Kawowo Sports Samuel Eto’o

Eto’o is widely regarded as the greatest players of all time in the history of African. A four-time CAF Player of the Year (2003,2004, 2005 & 2010), he also won the Africa Cup of Nations with Cameroon in 2000 and 2002.

Yaya Toure

Caf Yaya Toure

The Ivorian enforcer ranks amongst the best in his native, Africa and rest of the world. Toure was crowned CAF Player of the Year for an unprecedented four times in a row (2011, 2012, 2013 &2014), and ultimately guiding Cote d’Ivoire to the Africa Cup of Nations in 2015.

Didier Drogba

GiveMeSport Didier Drogba

Two-time CAF Player of the Year – 2006 & 2009, Drogba ranks amongst the foremost forwards of his generation. Besides successes at club level, he appeared in five AFCONS (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012 & 2013) reaching the final in 2006 and 2012.

Rabeh Madjer

Ismael Kiyonga | Kawowo Sports Raber Madjer

Madjer was part of the squad that won Algeria’s AFCON title, 1990 on home soil. He is revered by all and is famous for his stint with Portuguese side Porto. He also won the Ballon d’or Africain in 1987.

Nwankwo Kanu

Ismael Kiyonga | Kawowo Sports Nwankwo Kanu

‘Papilo’ as he is fondly called featured six AFCON editions from 2000 to 2010. The highlight of his career was his coronation as CAF Player of the Year in 1996 and 1999.

El Hadji Diouf

David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports El Hadji Diouf owns a state of art gymnasium in Dakar, Senegal.

He remains the only Senegalese to have been crowned CAF Player of the Year, decorated in 2001 and 2002. Diouf was a key member of the Teranga Lions golden generation that made headlines across the world in the early 2000’s.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here