Cheptegei on the finishing point with a powerful kick
  • 2019 Prefontaine Classic (2 Miles)
  • Winner: Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda) – 8:07:54
  • 1st Runners up: Paul Chelimo (USA) – 8:07:59
  • 2nd Runner up: Selemon Barega (Ethopia) – 8:08:69

Uganda’s long distance runner Joshua Cheptegei triumphed at the 2019 Prefontaine classic event held at the Cobb Track and Angell Field in Stanford, California.

The Ugandan posted a time of 8 minutes, seven seconds and 54 microseconds for the first ever victory in two miles, setting the event and national record as well.

Cheptegei was five microseconds ahead of United States of America’s Paul Chelimo (8:07:59) in a photo finish contest.

Ethiopia’s Selemon Barega was third to take the bronze medal with 8:08:69.

Cheptegei (middle) was five micro- seconds ahead of Paul Chelimo Credit: Profontaine Classic

Ahmed Mohammed (Canada), Davis Kiplangat (Kenya), Stewart Mcsweyn (Australia), Richard Yator (Kenya), Getaneh Molla (Ethiopia), Justyn Knight (Canada) and Bahrain’s Birhanu Balew completed the top ten positions.

Meanwhile, Winnie Nanyondo was fifth in the women 1500 M final with a timing of 4:00:09.

Kenya’s Faith Kipyegon (3:59:04) beat Great Britain’s Laura Muir (3:59:47) to the tape.

Another Ugandan, Peruth Chemutai clocked 9:24:32 to finish 10th in the women 3000M steeplechase final.

Kenya’s Beatrice Chepkoech (8:55:58) won the 3000M steeplechase event.

What a special day at the Nike Preclassic 2 mile. Running 8:07, a world-leading time and national record. The victory belongs to Jesus. Thanks to you my fans for the amazing support

Joshua Cheptegei
Joshua Chepetegei (middle) with a powerful kick beating the leading pack at the finishing point Credit: Prefontaine Classic

Men 2 Mile (Final)

  1. Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda) – 8:07.54 (*World Leading Time) 
  2. Paul Chelimo (United States) – 8:07.59 (*Personal best Time) 
  3. Selemon Barega (Ethiopia) – 8:08.69  (*Personal best Time) 
  4. Mohammed Ahmed (Canada) – 8:15.76 (*Personal best Time) 
  5. Davis Kiplangat (Kenya) – 8:16.02    
  6. Stewart Mcsweyn (Australia) –  8:16.28      
  7. Richard Yator (Kenya) – 8:18.09 (*Personal best Time)
  8. Getaneh Molla (Ethiopia) – 8:18.88   
  9. Justyn Knight (Canada) –  8:19.75  
  10. Birhanu Balew (Bahrain) -8:20.56 (*Personal Best Time) 
  11. Eric Jenkins (United States) – 8:22.37 (*Personal Best Time) 
  12. Kirubel Erassa (United States) –  8:25.14     
  13. Paul Kipngetich Tanui (Kenya) –  8:28.60 (*Personal Best Time) 
  14. Justus Soget (Kenya) – 8:33.00        
  15. Ronald Kwemoi (Kenya) – 8:42.41      
  • Vincent Kibet (Kenya) *Did not finish
  • Bram Som (Netherlands) *Did not finish
  • Milkesa Menegsha (Ethiopia) *Disqualified
Joshua Cheptegei on the finishing point with a powerful kick

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think