Lively Uganda Cranes fans
  • 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers Draw
  • Monday, 29th July 2019
  • At the CAF Headquarters, 6th October – Cairo, Egypt

Uganda and the rest of Africa will be keen to know their opponents as the draw for the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers take center stage on Monday, 29th July 2019.

The Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF) will hold the draw for the African countries at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt.

All the 54 CAF member nations will be considered in the draw (unless otherwise).

Uganda Cranes seek for their first ever FIFA World Cup appearance for the biggest sporting event in the entire world.

The Uganda Cranes will be exempted from the preliminary round of the qualifiers

Qualification format:

This time round, it is a long process that will involve all the 54 countries under CAF beginning with the preliminary round for the countries ranked between 27th to 54th.

The second round will see the top 26 ranked CAF teams joined by the 14 winners from the first round.

These teams will be drawn into ten groups of four teams each.

The 26 highest ranked teams (according to FIFA) will be exempted from the preliminary round. As for the remaining 28, the 14 highest ranked teams will face the 14 lowest.
Then the 14 winning teams will participate in the group stages alongside the 26 highest ranked teams in the continent. They will be divided into 10 groups of four teams.Finally, each group leaders will face each other in the knockout stages, where the five highest ranked teams will face the remaining five.

Bye to Round 2

The best footballing top 26 African countries will not play in the preliminary round.

These include; newly crowned African champions Algeria, runners up Senegal, Cameroon, Tunisia, Morocco, DR Congo, Nigeria, Ghana, Egypt, Burkina Faso, Mali, Ivory Coast, Guinea, South Africa, Cape Verde, Zambia, Benin, Gabon, Congo, Mauritania, Niger, Kenya, Madagascar, Niger, Zimbabwe and Libya.

Round two will then involve the rest of the African teams that will have qualified from the preliminaries where groups A to J of five teams each will be formulated.

The leaders of each group will qualify for the final round for five home-and-away ties.

The winners of each tie will advance to the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

Africa will be represented by five countries for the tournament that will have 32 finalists.

The World Cup in Qatar will take place between 21st November to 18th December 2022.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation


Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think