Uganda Cranes’ Vice-Captain Hassan Wasswa Mawanda has officially signed a two-year deal at Saudi Arabia outfit Jeddah Club.

Mawanda, a utility player comfortable in midfield and all positions at the backline, was unveiled at the 1968 founded club.

Wasswa, a two-time member of the Uganda Cranes at the prestigious Africa Cup of Nations (2017 in Gabon and Egypt 2019), has earned 76 caps with the national team.

He kick-started his promising career with Naguru Avis in the Uganda second division league before switching sides to Nakawa United in the same tier.

Later, he featured at Kampala United (Gaba United) in the Uganda Premier League, had two stints at KCCA, Sports Club Villa and Vipers Sports Club.

Outside the borders of Uganda, he has been at Saint George (Ethiopia), F.C Cape Town (South Africa), and Turkish clubs of Karabükspor, Altay and Kayseri Erciyesspor.

Hassan Wasswa Mawanda dots ink on the treasured employment contract at Jeddah Club Credit: Jeddah Club

Mawanda also played in Vietnam with Đồng Nai, Al-Shorta (Iraq), Al-Nejmeh (Lebanon) and recently at Tala’ea El Gaish in Egypt.

Since departing Tala’ea El Gaish at the start of 2019, Mawanda has been a free agent.

For the Uganda Cranes, he remains among the senior players on the team having earned 76 caps and rising to the ranks of vice-captain over the years.

Jeddah Club features in the Saudi Arabia second-tier division and it is owned by filthy rich businessman, Ahmed Al-Baadani.

They are coached by Abdulrahman Al-Ahdal and have a couple of African players as the Ivory Coast’s duo of forward Ibrahim Sory and midfielder Patrick Gbala.

They also have The Gambia’s goalkeeper Modou Jobe, Cameroonian midfielder Oumarou Kaina as well as Brazilian born striker Thiago Furtuoso and midfielder Felipe Nunes.

Jeddah club will open their 2019 – 2020 campaign away from home against Al Nojoom at the Prince Abdullah bin Jalawi Sports City Stadium on 20th August 2019.

Other details of Wasswa’s deal as regards the sign-on fees, monthly remuneration and match allowances remain muted thus far.

Wasswa Hassan in possession of the ball against Zimbabwe during the 2019 AFCON finals hosted in Egypt

Some Clubs featured for:

  • 2004: Naguru Avis and Nakawa United (Uganda)
  • 2005: Kampala United – Gaba (Uganda)
  • 2006 – 2007: KCCA (Uganda)         
  • 2007–2008: Saint George (Ethiopia)        
  • 2008–2009: F.C Cape Town (South Africa)                  
  • 2009–2010: Karabükspor (Turkey)
  • 2010–2011: Altay (Turkey)
  • 2011–2012: Kayseri Erciyesspor (Turkey)
  • 2012–2013: KCCA (Uganda)
  • 2013–2014: Đồng Nai F.C (Vietnam)                  
  • 2014–2015: Sports Club Villa (Uganda)    
  • 2015–2016: Al-Shorta (Iraq)
  • 2016: Vipers Sports Club (Uganda)
  • 2017: Al-Nejmeh (Lebanon)
  • 2017–2018: Tala’ea El Gaish (Egypt)
  • 2019 (August) – Todate: Jeddah Club (Saudi Arabia)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply