Airtel Masaza Cup | Quarterfinal

  • Butambala 0-0 Buddu (*Buddu progresses 3-1 on aggregate)
  • Bulemezi 1-0 Kyaggwe (*Bulemezi progresses 2-1 on aggregate)
  • Busiro 0-0 Ssese (*Busiro progresses 2-1 on aggregate)
  • Ssingo 1-1 Kyadondo (*Kyadondo progresses 3-2 on aggregate)

The return legs of the 2019 Airtel Masaza Cup were held on Sunday, September 1, 2019 with all the eight teams in action.

2016 champions Buddu progressed to the semifinals following a goalless draw with Butambala at Bulo grounds.

The result meant that Buddu makes the last four grade with a 3-1 aggregate score after the first leg played at the Masaka Recreational Stadium last week.

Action between Buddu and Singo in the 2018 final played at Mandela National Stadium

Other Quarterfinal matches:

At the Kasana playground in Luweero, the home team Bulemezi smiled to a 1-0 victory over Kyaggwe to progress 2-1 on aggregate.

Emmanuel Loki struck the priceless goal that gave Simon Peter Mugerwa’s coached side the victory before a very passionate gathering.

The first leg played at Mukono Bishop S.S playground had ended one goal apiece.

A star-studded Busiro side also made the last four stage following a goal-less scoreline with the Islanders, Ssese. The first leg played at Lutoboka playground in Ssese Islands was won by Busiro 2-1.

Defending champions Ssingo bowed out at the Mityana Ssaza grounds fortress in heartbreaking fashion. The return leg between Ssingo and Kyadondo ended one goal apiece.

Kyadondo, winners in 2008, thus progressed 3-2 on aggregate since they had won 2-1 at their Champions Stadium home in Mwererwe.

Semifinal Matchups

The first legs of the two semifinals will be played next Sunday, 15th September 2019.

Bulemezi will face Kyadondo away at the Champions Stadium, Mwererwe and Buddu take on Busiro at the Masaka Recreational Stadium in Masaka.

The tournament is proudly sponsored by telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda Limited.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2018 – Ssingo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012– Bulemeezi
  • 2011– Buluri
  • 2010– Not Held
  • 2009– Gomba
  • 2008– Kyadondo
  • 2007– Mawokota
  • 2006– Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba

David Isabirye

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think