Airtel Masaza Cup 2019:

Quarterfinal return legs:

  • Ssingo 1-1 Kyadondo (*Kyadondo progresses 3-2 on aggregate)
  • Butambala 0-0 Buddu (*Buddu progresses 3-1 on aggregate)
  • Bulemezi 1-0 Kyaggwe (*Bulemezi progresses 2-1 on aggregate)
  • Busiro 0-0 Ssese (*Busiro progresses 2-1 on aggregate)

Ssingo, the defending champions of the Airtel Masaza football tourney, is out!

Led by Felix Kawooya Ssekabuuza and Richard Kasule who replaced Shafiq Bisaso (on study leave), Ssingo bowed out at their Mityana Ssese grounds fortress in heartbreaking fashion.

A one-all draw on the day with Kyadondo meant that the visitors progressed 3-2 on aggregate having won the first leg 2-1 at the Champions Stadium in Mwererwe last week.

Ssingo players and officials hoist their trophy last year at Namboole Stadium Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Other quarterfinal results:

2016 champions Buddu also qualified for the semi-finals following a goalless draw away with Butambala at Bulo grounds.

Buddu thus qualified with a 3-1 aggregate score, a result that they managed to record after the first leg played at the Masaka Recreational Stadium last week.

Bulemezi smiled to a 1-0 victory over Kyaggwe at the Kasana playground in Luweero to progress 2-1 on aggregate.

Emmanuel Loki struck the priceless goal that gave Simon Peter Mugerwa’s coached side the victory before a very passionate gathering.

The first leg played at Mukono Bishop S.S play-ground had ended one goal apiece.

A star-studded Busiro side also made the last four stage following a goal-less scoreline with the Islanders, Ssese.

The first leg played at Lutoboka playground in Ssese Islands was won by Busiro 2-1.

Semifinal matchups:

The first legs of the two semifinals will be played on Sunday, 15th September 2019.

Bulemezi will face Kyadondo away at the Champions Stadium, Mwererwe and Buddu take on Busiro at the Masaka Recreational Stadium in Masaka.

The tournament is proudly sponsored by telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda Limited.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2018 – Ssingo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012– Bulemeezi
  • 2011– Buluri
  • 2010– Not Held
  • 2009– Gomba
  • 2008– Kyadondo
  • 2007– Mawokota
  • 2006– Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think