Airtel Masaza Cup | Quarterfinal return legs

  • Busiro 0-0 Ssese (*Busiro progresses 2-1 on aggregate)
  • Bulemezi 1-0 Kyaggwe (*Bulemezi progresses 2-1 on aggregate)
  • Butambala 0-0 Buddu (*Buddu progresses 3-1 on aggregate)
  • Ssingo 1-1 Kyadondo (*Kyadondo progresses 3-2 on aggregate)

Busiro qualified for the semifinals of the 2019 Airtel Masaza Cup with a gallant home display during their goalless quarterfinal affair with visiting Ssese at the Ssentema playground in Wakiso on Sunday, September 1, 2019.

Deo Sserwadda’s coached side thus progressed to the last four stage 2-1 on aggregate after the great away performance at the Lutoboka playground.

Busiro is the only team among the semifinalists which has never won the Masaza trophy.

Ssese Ssaza team players in a prayer session. The intercession failed to deliver them to the semi-finals after bowing out to Busiro

Other quarterfinal results

Bulemezi, winners in 2012 beat visiting Kyaggwe 1-0 at the Kasana playground in Luwero.

Striker Emmanuel Loki scored the only goal that separated the two sides.

During the first leg in Mukono at the Bishops SS playground, Simon Peter Mugerwa’s charges shared the spoils with the home side one all.

Buddu, champions in 2016 also progressed to the semifinals following a goalless draw away with Butambala at Bulo grounds, qualifying with a 3-1 aggregate score after the first leg played at the Masaka Recreational Stadium last week.

Defending champions Ssingo were eliminated by Kyadondo at their Mityana Ssese grounds fortress with a one-all draw result on the day, losing 3-2 on aggregate.

Semifinal fixtures

The first legs of the two semifinals will be played on Sunday, 15th September 2019.

Bulemezi will face Kyadondo away at the Champions Stadium, Mwererwe and Buddu take on Busiro at the Masaka Recreational Stadium in Masaka.

The tournament is proudly sponsored by telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda Limited.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2018 – Ssingo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think