Uganda Cranes players in training at StarTImes stadium, Lugogo

Uganda Cranes interim head coach Abdallah Mubiru has trimmed the provisional squad by dropping six players as preparations ahead of the Championship of African Nations (CHAN) qualifier against Burundi continue.

Mubiru trimmed the squad that travelled to Njeru to face the Uganda U20 national team (Uganda Hippos) to 26 players from the initial 32-man provisional squad that was summoned.

The six players dropped are goalkeeper Joel Mutakubwa of Kyetume FC, midfilder Samuel Kintu,defender Eddy Kapampa from Maroons FC, Samson Andrew Kigozi of Police FC, Ashraf Mandela and Gadaffi Wahab from URA FC and Onduparaka FC respectively.

It should be noted that goalkeeper James Alitho and striker Joel Madondo were late additions since they had not been summoned on the initial squad.

James Aitho in action during a training session on Tuesday morning

Madondo replaced Edris Lubega of Proline FC who got injured while Alitho replaced SC Villa’s Saidi Keni.

The Uganda Cranes and Uganda Hippos will face off in a practice match on Tuesday at the FUFA Technical Centre with the latter preparing for the 2019 CECEFA U20 Challenge Cup that starts on 21st September.

Uganda will play against Burundi in the first leg away in Bujumbura on 21st September 2019 before a return leg on 19th October 2019 in Kampala.

The winner on aggregate will qualify for the 2020 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) in Cameroon.

Uganda Cranes squad in camp

Goalkeepers: James Alitho (URA), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), Yasin Mugabi (Wakiso Giants Fc)

Defenders: Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Mustafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), John Revita (KCCA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Paul Mbowa (URA FC), Arafat Galiwango (Police FC), Benson Tahomera (Kyetume FC)

Midfielders: Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), David Owori (SC Villa), Yusuf Ssozi (Police FC), Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City FC), Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Muzamir Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Vianney Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Sulaiman Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers SC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC)

Strikers: Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Daniel Sserunkuma (Vipers SC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United)

Joel Muyita

Joel Muyita is a senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think