Uganda XI against Burundi at Lugogo in the Chan qualifiers Credit: Courtesy

Over the weekend, Uganda joined the other 15 countries that will play at the 7th edition of the Championship of African Nations (CHAN).

For starters, the 2020 CHAN tournament will be hosted by Cameroon in West Africa.

Uganda, Tanzania, and Rwanda will represent the East – Central Zone.

This will be Uganda’s fifth successive time at this tournament following appearances in 2011 (Sudan), 2014 (South Africa), 2016 (Rwanda) and 2018 (Morocco) editions.

Fahad Bayo in action for Uganda Cranes against Burundi. Uganda won 3-0 to qualify 6-0 on aggregate

Rwanda eliminated Ethiopia 2-1 on aggregate following a one-all draw in the second leg.

Tanzania made the grade at the expense of Sudan following a 2-1 away win in the return leg to qualify on the away goal’s rule.

Besides Cameroon, who are the tournament hosts, the other West African countries include Burkina Faso, Guinea, Niger, Mali and the first-timers Togo.

Togo is the only debutant at the tournament that exclusively allows the players featuring in the domestic leagues. Togo eliminated African giants Nigeria during the final round of the qualifiers.

From the central Africa Zone are countries as Zambia, Zimbabwe, DR Congo, and Congo. DR Congo makes a return after missing out on the 2018 edition.

Namibia will carry the Southern Africa Zone flag.

Morocco and Tunisia are the representatives from Northern Zone.

The draws for the final tournament will be held in December in Cameroon.

Morocco is the tournament defending champions.

The successful countries:

  • Cameroon (Hosts)
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Rwanda
  • Namibia
  • Togo (First time)
  • Morocco
  • Zimbabwe
  • DR Congo
  • Congo
  • Tunisia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Guinea
  • Niger
  • Mali

David Isabirye

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think