Some of the Uganda Cranes' players upon arrival at Yaounde Airport in Cameroon (Credit: FUFA Media)

The Uganda Cranes delegation to West African country Cameroon endured a 22 hour journey before arrival at their final destination on Tuesday, 29th December 2020.

The 39 man team had an overnight stop over in the Ethiopian capital of Addis Ababa before continuing with their journey.

“We arrived safely at the Yaounde Airport and the team was accorded VIP reception before being driven to the Felecia Hotel, the home of Cranes during the Mini tournament.” FUFA communications director Ahmed Marsh Hussein, who traveled with the team disclosed.

Some of the Uganda Cranes players as they awaited clearance through the immigration process (Credit: FUFA Media)

First training session in Cameroon:

The team is set to conduct their first training in Cameroon on Wednesday afternoon at the Omnisport Annex2 stadium in Yaoundé.  

Uganda will take part in a Pre-CHAN tournament involving Cameroon, Niger and Zambia running between 1st and 7th January 2021.

Uganda Cranes head coach Johnathan McKinstry with the other team officials in a brief meeting

The team has a new goalkeeping coach in Sadiq Wassa, who replaced Fred Kajoba Kisitu at the 11th hour after the latter breached the in-house camp rules when he left without authorization.

Uganda will use the Pre-CHAN tournament as a precursor to the 2020 CHAN tournament that was pushed ahead to January and February 2021 because of the Coronavirus pandemic.

Uganda Cranes is in group C alongside the defending champions Cameroon, neighbors Rwanda and West Africans Togo.

Group C will be stationed at Stade de la Réunification in Douala city.

The 2020 CHAN tournament will kick off on 16th January 2021 and will climax by 7th February 2021.

Traveling Delegation:


Goalkeepers: Tom Ikara (Police), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Nafian Alionzi (URA)

Defenders: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Musitafa Mujuzi (Kyetume), Patrick Mbowa (URA),Eric Ssenjobe (Police), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers), Paul Willa (Vipers), Ashraf Mandela (URA), Hassan Muhammad (Police)

Midfielders: Tonny Mawejje (Police), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants)

Fowards: Mohamed Shaban (Vipers), Joseph Ssemujju (BUL), Joackim Ojera (URA), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Stephen Mukwala (URA),Ben Ocen (Police), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants)


  • Leader of Delegation: Hamid Juma
  • Head Coach: Johnathan McKinstry
  • Assistant Coaches: Abdallah Mubiru Charles Livingstone Mbabazi
  • Performance Coach: Alexander McCarthy
  • Goalkeeping Coach: Sadiq Wassa
  • Sports Scientist: Felix Ayobo
  • Doctors: Dr. Emmanuel Nakabago and Dr. Opika Opoka
  • Media: Hussein Marsha Ahmed
  • Team manager: Geoffrey Massa
  • Equipment managers: Samuel Hassan Mulondo & Ayub Balyejusa
  • Team Coordinator: Paul Mukatabala

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think