Kabula XI

Masaza Cup 2020 (Muganzirwazza) Final Group Results:

  • Kabula 1-1 Ssese
  • Buddu 1-1 Gomba

Kabula and Ssese ended their expedition in the Masaza Cup 2020 championship with a point earned each during a 1-all draw at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru on Sunday, 17th January 2021.

This was during match 32 of the annual tournament in the Muganzirwazza group.

After a score-less opening 45 minutes, second half substitute Lawrence Kambugu gave Ssese the lead in the 50th minute.

Kabula quickly made amends with the equalizer coming through Ronald Sande Andabati.

Ssese had a better first half with a couple of missed goal scoring opportunities.

Striker Moses Okwera headed straight to Kabula goalkeeper Allan Kakooza off a teasing corner kick delivery from Jerome Anyama as early as the 8th minute.

Ten minutes later, Okwera found himself in a one against one situation but he blasted the ball over.

On the quarter hour mark, Anyama had a distant cross-cum-shot kiss the cross bar in what looked as the easiest chance to score.

Kabula’s Frank Katongole was cautioned by referee Lucky Kasalirwe on the 20th minute mark.

There were solid displays defensively from the two sides as the opening stanza ended goal-less.

Upon restart of the second half, both sides called for a different approach to the game.

Kambugu replaced Francis Mukasa in Ssese’s first change, five minutes into the closing stanza.

Kabula’s Andabati shot the cross bar in the 55th minute.

It was Ssese that broke the dead-lock when Kambugu finished past goalkeeper Kakooza in the 65th minute.

The joy was however short lived with Andabati’s equalizer two minutes later.

There was a late caution to Ssese’s left back Ivan Bukenya for unsporting character.

The point earned per side was good enough for the two teams to return home with something tangible in their pouch.

Both Gomba and Buddu joined the quarter final stage that already has Mawogola, Mawokota, Bugerere, Busiro, Busujju and the defending champions Bulemeezi.

Airtel Uganda is the platinum sponsor of this annual championship.

Other sponsors include; Centenary Bank, Kande Poultry Farm, Nabagereka Development Foundation and UNAIDS.

Gomba are the record champions of the tournament with 4 titles to their name, followed by Mawokota.

Team Line Ups:

Kabula XI: Allan Kakooza (G.K), Robert Akugizibwe, Ronald Sande Andabati, Sharif Sewankambo, Innocent Muwonge, Frank Katongole, Aristote Kambere, Valantino Odoi, Abdulkalimu Ddamulira, Baker Mabale Ssegitinya, Ashiraf Kalanzi

Substitutes: Richard Sseguya, Julius Ocen, Marco Mateega

Team officials:

  • Team manager: Nathan T. Kasule
  • Head coach: Paddy Tan Kakande
  • Assistant coach: Isah Nsubuga
  • Official: Richard Ssenyondo

Ssese XI: Fred Bukenya (G.K), Moses Okwera, Allan Bukenya, Jerome Anyama, Ashiraf Masiga, Mubarak Masereka, Ben Kenedy Kirembeka, Francis Mukasa, Frank Bomboka, Nicholas Sunday Kaweesa, Denis Kalanzi

Substitutes: Alex Nsubuga, Rashid Kamoga Wasswa, Edrisa Walusimbi, Lawrence Kambugu, George Ssemakula

Team officials:

  • Team manager: Daniel Mwanje
  • Head coach: Hamidu Kibirango
  • Assistant coach: Peter Nsibuka
  • Official: Samuel Kwesiga

Match officials:

  • Referee: Lucky Kasalirwe
  • Assistant Referee 1: Ronald Kayongo
  • Assistant Referee 2: Bashir Jjunju
  • 4th official: Fred Ishaka
  • Assessor: Ali Tomusange
  • Match Commissioner: Owek. Hassan Kiyimba

Other Results:

  • Buddu 3-0 Ssese
  • Gomba 4-0 Kabula
  • Ssese 3-4 Gomba
  • Kabula 0-2 Buddu

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think