Lillian Koowe is the indoor captain at Tooro Golf Club in Fort Portal city

Fort Portal based Tooro golf club held their annual general meeting on Friday, 30 April 2021.

On the agenda were various important matters to be discussed including the election of the new executive committee that is going to run the club activities for a term of two years starting 2021 to 2023.

The Annual general meeting convened having failed to raise the quorum on 17th April 2021.

However, this time round the members turned up in big numbers to get the new club executive.

Notable names that attended the AGM include Honourable JB Tumusiime a senior member of Toro club who is also the current chairperson of Mbarara district, Tom Prinsloo (club trustee), Smart Bwango (trustee), Isaac Singura a senior member of Toro club, Victor Kalenzi a senior member of Toro club and former aspirant Bunyagabu member of parliament,  Apuuli Emmanuel Basaliza a life member at Toro club, Bingi Aloysious a senior member of the club and  former aspirant  Fort portal Member of parliament.

Tooro Golf Club course

The elections were presided over by Judge Kagaba who is a senior member of the club.

Following the elections only two members from the old executive were voted again to the new executive

Their return to the new executive means they had really performed so well and these members are Jill Pinda who was voted again for the position of course member.

Frank Kirungi who was serving as the club Treasurer was this time brought as a big man of the club into the position of chairman replacing his best ally Patrick Baguma.

Collins Accelam is the general secretary, George Kaihura (treasurer), Andrew Isagara (house member), Jill Pinda (course member), Isaiah Mwesige (outdoor captain) and Lillian Koowe as indoor captain.

Isaiah Mwesige, the outdoor captain at Tooro Golf Club

Meanwhile, the annual Mayombo Open tees off on Saturday, 1st May 2021 at the same club.

This is a championship organized annually to commemorate the late Brig.Noble Mayombo who was a senior member of the club.

Close to 70 golf players have already registered to take part in the tournament tomorrow that will tee-off by 7:30am.

The elected executive and their positions:

  • Chairman: Frank Kirungi
  • Golf Captain: Benard Baguma
  • General Secretary: Collins Accelam
  • Treasurer: George Kaihura
  • House Member: Andrew Isagara
  • Course Member: Jill Pinda
  • Outdoor Captain: Isaiah Mwesige
  • Indoor Captain: Lillian Koowe

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think