Kobs Players celebrate with title Credit: EDGAR BARON HAMALA / Kawowo Sports

Kobs Rugby Club have won the 2021 Nile Special Stout Rugby Premier League title to end a long five-year wait for league triumph.

And flawlessly, have they done it! The now thirteen-time league champions went unbeaten in all their nine matches, conceding only two tries in the flawless campaign.

Kobs needed only one point from their last match of the season to be crowned champions. This was against their closest challenger Pirates who needed nothing less of a bonus point victory in the crunch title decider played at Legends Rugby Club.

Tries from Alhajj Manano and Derrick Tukwasiibwe plus points off James Ijongat’s boot secured not only the point but also the win.

Kobs coach with title Credit: EDGAR BARON HAMALA / Kawowo Sports

When center referee Sauda Adiru blew the final whistle, it was a mixture of emotions for the players, officials and fans of Kobs Rugby Club. While the fans and some players leaped in jubilation, captain Brian Asaba was overwhelmed by tears of joy.

“It’s been a long season. We have come a long way. We have worked so hard. We have been disappointed in a couple of seasons but the moment has come. We have finally won. We have finally won.”

Kobs captain Brian Asaba

The crowning moment was graced by Prince Daudi Kintu Wasajja of the Buganda Kingdom who handed over the trophy to Asaba.

Previous league champions:

  • 1990: Kobs
  • 1991: Heathens
  • 1992: Heathens
  • 1993: Heathens
  • 1994: Not held
  • 1995: Kobs
  • 1996: Impis
  • 1997: Kobs
  • 1998: Kobs
  • 1999: Kobs
  • 2000: Kobs
  • 2001: Kobs
  • 2002: Heathens
  • 2003: Kobs
  • 2004: Heathens
  • 2005: Heathens
  • 2006: Kobs
  • 2007: Kobs
  • 2008: Kobs
  • 2009: Heathens
  • 2010: Heathens
  • 2011: Heathens
  • 2012: Heathens
  • 2013: Heathens
  • 2014: Kobs
  • 2015: Heathens
  • 2016: Kobs
  • 2017: Heathens
  • 2018: Pirates
  • 2019: Heathens
  • 2020: Heathens
  • 2021: Kobs

League titles:

  • Heathens: 15
  • Kobs:13
  • Impis: 1
  • Pirates: 1

Ernest Akorebirungi is Uganda's top rugby writer and commentator with experience in local tournaments like the national XVs competitions and sevens series. He has also reported at international tournaments...

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply