• Saturday July 17, 2021
  • Complexe Mohamed V Stadium in Casablanca, Morocco 10pm  

Holders and record champions Al Ahly will face South Africa’s Kaizer Chiefs in the 2020-21 Caf Champions League final on Saturday at the Complexe Mohamed V Stadium in Casablanca, Morocco.

Al Ahly will be favourites coming into the game as they seek to win a 10th title while Chiefs are seeking to win only their first Caf Champions League title.

To reach the stage, Chiefs overcame Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca 1-0 on aggregate while Al Ahly beat Tunisia’s Esperance 3-0 on aggregate winning both home and away.

Overall, Pitso Mosimane’s charges have played 12 matches, 8 wins, drawn 3, scored 23 goals and conceded 6 goals with their only defeat coming against Tanzania’s Simba SC.

For Chiefs, they have played 14 matches and have won 6, drawn 6 and lost 2 scoring 12 goals and conceded only 9 so far.

The winner will earn a trophy and prize money to the tune of 2.5 million US $ while the runners up will collect 1.25 million US $.

In addition, the winner will have a place in the 2021 CAF Super Cup where they will face RS Berkane and also represent Africa at the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup, scheduled in Japan next December.

Previous CAF CL winners

1964-65 Oryx Douala (Cameroon)

1966 Stade Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire)

1967 TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

1968 TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

1969 Ismaily (Egypt)

1970 Asante Kotoko (Ghana)

1971 Canon Yaounde (Cameroon)

1972 Hafia (Guinea)

1973 AS Vita Club (DR Congo)

1974 CARA Brazzaville (Congo)

1975 Hafia (Guinea)

1976 MC Alger (Algeria)

1977 Hafia (Guinea)

1978 Canon Yaounde (Cameroon)

1979 Union Douala (Cameroon)

1980 Canon Yaounde (Cameroon)

1981 JS Kabylie (Algeria)

1982 Al Ahly (Egypt)

1983 Asante Kotoko (Ghana)

1984 Zamalek (Egypt)

1985 FAR Rabat (Morocco)

1986 Zamalek (Egypt)

1987 Al Ahly (Egypt)

1988 ES Setif (Algeria)

1989 Raja (Morocco)

1990 JS Kabylie (Algeria)

1991 Club Africain (Tunisia)

1992 Wydad (Morocco)

1993 Zamalek (Egypt)

1994 Esperance (Tunisia)

1995 Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

1996 Zamalek (Egypt)

1997 Raja (Morocco)

1998 ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire)

1999 Raja (Morocco)

2000 Hearts of Oak (Ghana)

2001 Al Ahly (Egypt)

2002 Zamalek (Egypt)

2003 Enyimba (Nigeria)

2004 Enyimba (Nigeria)

2005 Al Ahly (Egypt)

2006 Al Ahly (Egypt)

2007 Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)

2008 Al Ahly (Egypt)

2009 TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

2010 TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

2011 Esperance (Tunisia)

2012 Al Ahly (Egypt)

2013 Al Ahly (Egypt)

2014 ES Setif (Algeria)

2015 TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

2016 Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

2017 Wydad (Morocco)

2018 Esperance (Tunisia)

2018-19 Esperance (Tunisia)

2019-20 Al Ahly (Egypt)

2020-21 ??

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply