L-R: Gavin Kizito Mugweri, Bobosi Byaruhanga and Derrick Kakooza stretch after training session at Bahir Dar University sta

CECAFA U-23 Challenge Cup 2021: (July 18-31) – Bahir Dar, Ethiopia:

  • Group A: Uganda, Tanzania, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
  • Group B: Ethiopia, Burundi, Eritrea
  • Group C: Djibouti, South Sudan, Kenya

Sunday, 18th July 2021: Uganda Vs DR Congo (1 PM)

Uganda U-23 head coach Morley Byekwaso has named an offensive minded side that will battle guest country Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) during the group A duel of the CECAFA U-23 Challenge cup in Ethiopia, Bahir Dar on Sunday afternoon.

Experienced KCCA goalkeeper Charles Lukwago starts in the goal posts ahead of Saidi Keni and Denis Otim.

Team captain Enock Walusimbi (Express) and Azizi Kayondo (Vipers) take the right and left back roles respectively.

L-R: Charles Lukwago,, Denis Otim and Saidi Keni during a training session (Credit: FUFA Media)

There is the central defensive partnership of the two towering KCCA defenders Musa Ramathan and Peter Magambo with Vipers’ Bobosi Byaruhanga playing the holding midfield role.

In central attacking midfield; it is a collection of Julius Poloto (KCCA), Steven Sserwadda (KCCA) and Karim Watambala (Vipers).

AFCON U-20 top scorer Derrick Kakooza (Police) and Steven Mukwala (URA) lead the quest for the much needed goals.

Reserve Forces:

It is a rich collection of players in Dennis Otim and Saidi Keni (both goalkeepers).

Others are George Kaddu, Sadam Masereka, Najib Yiga, Gavin Kizito Mugweri, Abdallah Salim, Samuel Ssenyonjo, Ivan Bogere, Bright Anukani, Hakim Kiwanuka and Kenneth Ssemakula.

FIFA Referee Mogos Teklu Tsegay from Eritrea will handle the game.

Uganda XI (Shirt numbers in brackets):

Charles Lukwago (1 – G.K), Enock Walusimbi (15 – Captain), Azizi Kayondo (3), Musa Ramathan (4), Peter Magambo (13), Bobosi Byaruhanga (17), Steven Sserwadda (8), Karim Watambala (10), Julius Poloto (7), Derrick Kakooza (20), Steven Mukwala (9)

Subs: Dennis Otim (19 – G.K), Saidi Keni (18 – G.K), Sadam Masereka (12), Najib Yiga (14), Gavin Kizito (5), Abdallah Salim (23), Samuel Ssenyonjo (21), Ivan Bogere (11), Bright Anukani (16), George Kaddu (2), Hakim Kiwanuka (22), Kenneth Ssemakula (6)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think