Sulaiman Kiwanuka holds some of the dollars

Masaza Cup 2021:

  • Final: Buwekula Vs Buddu (3:00 PM)
  • Third place: Mawokota Vs Bulemeezi (12:00 PM)
  • Saturday, 5th March – St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende
  • Entry Fees: 20,000/= (Ordinary) & 50,000/= (VIP)

Sports enthusiast, businessman, politician-cum-philanthropist Sulaiman Kiwanuka has offered $ 100 (at least Shs. 370,000/=) for every goal scored during the final of the 2021 Masaza cup final at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Saturday, 5th March 2022.

In the eagerly awaited finale, Buwekula takes on Buddu during the clash that will determine the champion of the 17th edition since the tournament resumed in 2004.

His Majesty, the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II will grace this match, just like he did for the official opening match between Gomba and Kyadondo.

“I am offering $ 100 for every goal scored in the final of the Masaza Cup between Buwekula and Buddu. I want to make the final more entertaining and lively with players’ urge to find the back of the net” he remarked.

Sulaiman Kiwanuka

Kiwanuka is best remembered for the same offer he made during the same tournament for Kyaggwe Ssaza team.

Kyaggwe unfortunately did not make the grade past the quarter final stage after being eliminated by Mawokota 3-2 in post-match penalties after normal time had ended two goals apiece.

In total, Kiwanuka contributed $ 1900 (Shs 6,650,000) to the entire Kyaggwe team at the 2021 tournament which was hosted at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru until the semi-final stage.

To qualify for the final, Buwekula eliminated Mawokota and Buddu beat Bulemeezi, just like the 2020 semi-final show down.

Both Buwekula and Buddu have intensified their trainings sessions in preparation for finale.

Entry for the final at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende is 20,000/= and 50,000/= in the ordinary and VIP dockets respectively.

Five time champions (record winners) Gomba were dumped out at the group stages.

Therefore, a new champion will be known come Saturday, 5th March 2022.

The tournament is funded by UNAIDS, Nabagereka Development Foundation, Centenary Bank and Airtel Uganda (main sponsors).

Past Winners:

  • 2020: Gomba
  • 2019: Bulemeezi
  • 2018: Singo
  • 2017: Gomba
  • 2016: Buddu
  • 2015: Singo
  • 2014: Gomba
  • 2013: Mawokota
  • 2012: Bulemeezi
  • 2011: Buluri
  • 2010: Not Held
  • 2009: Gomba
  • 2008: Kyadondo
  • 2007: Mawokota
  • 2006: Kooki
  • 2005: Mawokota
  • 2004: Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply