Stella Oyella against rivals Prisons during the 2022 East African Netball Championship at Kamwokya Community Sports Grounds (Credit: John Batanudde) Credit: John Batanudde

Fortebet Real Stars Awards | May 2022:

  • Netball Nominees: Stella Oyella (NIC), Shafie Nalwanja (KCCA) & Jessica Achan (Prisons)

After guiding National Insurance Corporation (NIC) netball club to the 2022 East Africa Netball title, shooter Stella Oyella has been nominated for the May Fortebet Real Stars award in the netball category.

The two other players on the list include KCCA’s Goalkeeper Shafie Nalwanja and Jessica Achan of Prisons.

Oyella was instrumental for NIC in their flawless performance throughout the tournament where they finished unbeaten.

Stella Oyella (left) recieves a pass in the game against JKT Mbweni at Kamwokya Community sports grounds (Credit: David Isabirye)

For all games played, Oyella top scored with her accurate shooting skills including the 44-35 victory over rivals Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) in the final.

By close of business at the championship, Oyella finished as top scorer among the women with 244 goals, ahead of Prisons’ Christine Kango Namulumba (218).

“I feel so grateful being nominated. All the glory comes from God. Whoever wins of the three of us who are nominated surely deserves to take it” Oyella revealed.

Prisons’ Jessica Achan in action during the 2022 East Africa Netball Championship at Kamwokya Community Sports Grounds (Credit: UNF)

Her rivals Achan and Nalwanja were equally elated by the nomination.

“I feel very excited to be nominated. This gives me more motivation and courage to continue playing hard. I am doing more and training harder everyday” Achan stated.

KCCA’s Nalwanja expressed delight upon being nominated, a special recognition for her service to the game.

“Being nominated for the second time is humbling. It shows that people believe in my work and I am humbled. It does not come as a surprise because I really worked for it” Nalwanja remarked.

Shafie Nalwanja passes the ball during a training session with Uganda She Cranes (Credit: UNF)

Other Nominees:

The other nominees have come from Cricket, Football, Athletics and Basketball.

Aziz Damani’s Simon Ssesazzi, Janet Mbabazi (Victoria Pearls) and Kevin Awino (Victoria Pearls) are under Cricket.

The trio of Fazilah Ikwaput (Lady Doves), Hansifa Nassuna (UCU Lady Cardinals) and Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC) are in the football category.

Legendary athlete Joshua Cheptegei, Stella Chesang and teenager Victor Cherotich are nominated in athletics.

Two City Oilers’ basketball players James Okello and Tony Drileba as well as JKL Dolphins’ Brenda Ekone are nominated in Basketball.

The crowning ceremony will be held on Tuesday, 7th June 2022 at Route 256 Restaurant in Lugogo, Kampala city.

These awards are organized by Real Stars Sports Agency. They are proudly sponsored by Fortebet as the main title sponsors.

Other partners include Jude Colour Solutions and Canan Bulls Limited.

All Nominees:


  • Stella Oyella – National Insurance Corporation (NIC)
  • Shafie Nalwanja – KCCA
  • Jessica Achan – Prisons


  • Simon Ssesazzi – Aziz Damani
  • Janet Mbabazi – Victoria Pearls
  • Kevin Awino – Victoria Pearls


  • Fazilah Ikwaput – Lady Doves
  • Hansifa Nassuna – UCU Lady Cardinals
  • Bobosi Byaruhanga – Vipers Sports Club


  • Joshua Cheptegei
  • Stella Chesang
  • Victor Cherotich


  • James Okello – City Oilers
  • Tony Drileba – City Oilers
  • Brenda Ekone – JKL Dolphins

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply