Riazat Ali Sha | Credit: John Batanudde

Riazat Ali Shah helped Uganda snatch victory from the jaws of defeat in the inaugural Africa Cup tournament when he struck an unbeaten 98 that helped Uganda win by 8 wickets against late entrants Tanzania.

That performance alone garnered him enough votes to edge compatriots Simon Ssesazi and Frank Nsubuga in the USPA Cricketer of the Year race.

This is the second-time Riazat Ali Shah is winning the USPA Gong after winning the award in 2018. The Cricket Cranes All Rounder has since then been an integral member of the side, especially in the T20 version.

Janet Mbabazi

Meanwhile, Janet Mbabazi was voted as the best Female Cricketer of the Year 2022, a year that she finally came of age.

Mbabazi flourished in a year when the Victoria Pearls missed key players for most of the international season.

She had outstanding performances in Nepal and Kenya during which tournaments he was named the MVP. Her star also shone during the winless tour to Namibia and at the annual Kwibuka event where Uganda finished 3rd.

This is the second time Mbababzi is winning the award after bagging the same award in 2019.

Both players will be key for their teams as all the sides start to prepare for a busy 2023.

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think