Heathens win fourth successive domestic title

In many Ugandan rugby fanatics’ minds, MTN Heathens retaining the Nile Special rugby league crown always rung a bell ever since the emphatic 22-10 win over archrivals, UTL Kobs. And getting to the final day, Brian Tabaruka’s side only needed a bonus point against Toyota Buffaloes in a televised Kyadondo derby.

Within no time, the side had already posted the four vital tries on the scoreboard. Alex Mubiru, Benon Kiiza, Jude Keremundu and Evans Kingasia scored the four early tries in only 24 minutes. The score read 26-3 and Phillip

Wokorach’s 14th minute penalty counted for Buffaloes 3.

By the time referee blew the final whistle, Heathens had won the derby 44-3 with Jude Keremundu picking the day’s man of match award. The triumph meant Heathens equalled the record champions, Kobs who have not had a glimpse of league success since 2008.

Unlike last year when the Yellow Machine had 69 out of the possible 70 points in 14 games, Heathens won this year’s title with just 63 points, just six less than last year.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think