luwaga kizito

Midfielders Luwaga Kizito and Bony Baingana are in pole positions to lift the Bell Uganda Super League best midfielder and Footballer of the year accolades on June 29 at Victoria hall, Serena Hotel. Luwaga and Baingana turn out for Bunamwaya and Express respectively and are some of the so many that have lit up the 2011/2012 season.

Both have been shortlisted in the Best Midfieler and Footballer of the year award.
The others who received double nominations include Proline’s Simon Namwanja and Express Custodian Jamal Salim who have been nominated in the best Goalkeeper and best defender accolades. 15 categories named after former super greats have been linedup with three nominees in each. (See end of story for The Award categories and Nominees)
The award which were last held in 2008 when then KCC striker Brian Umony bust onto the scene had been kept under the carpet by the wrangles between FUFA and the organizers. The public will have a 30% involvement in the voting as the 70% will be by the coaches, captains, USL match agents and journalists.
Ten of the 16 USL clubs have been represented by either a player or coach; Bunamwaya, URA, Express, Simba, Police, Proline, Water, KCC, Maroons and Masaka.
The Award categories and Nominees
Footballer of the year (MVP)-In recognition of Philip Omondi
Kizito Luwagga (Bunamwaya SC), Robert Ssentongo (URA FC), Bonny Baingana (Express FC), Abege Opio George (Maroons FC)
Super League golden boot winner- In recognition of Majid Musisi
Best midfielder – In recognition of Mike Kiganda
 Moses Feni (URA FC), Bonny Baingana (Express FC), Kizito Luwagga (Bunamwaya SC)
Best defender- In recognition of Paul Hasule
– Simon Peter Namwanja (Proline FC), Wadada Nicholas (Bunamwaya SC), Ssenkoomi Sam (URA FC)
Best goal keeper- In recognition of Masajage
-Yasin Mugabi (Proline FC), Salim Jamal (Express), Hamza Muwonge (Bunamwaya SC)
Team of the season- Bell larger Award, To be named on grand awards (29/6/2012)
Fair play award –In recognition of Jimmy Kirunda-To be named on grand awards (29/6/2012)
Best Coach- In recognition of David Otti
– Kefa Kisala (Masaka LC), Alex Isabirye (URA), Sam Ssimbwa (Express)
Life time achievement- Kezekia Segwanga
Best journalist In recognition of Joseph Sekito- Sponsors/Partners and USL to determined
Young Player of the year- In recognition of Jackson Mayanja
– Salim Jamal (Express FC), Simon Peter Namwanja (Proline FC), Aucho Khalid (Simba FC)
Honorary award-Administrator-Sports person
– To be named at grand awards (29/6/2012)
Longest serving awards (League Football)
– Lubega Juma (Police), Emmanuel Balyejusa (Water), Richard Malinga (KCC)
Best goal of the year-Super Sport award – Yet to be determined
Worst player of the year-Yet to be determined
Best Striker award – In recognition of Andrew ‘Fimbo’ Mukasa
– Robert Ssentongo (URA), George Abege (Maroons), William Wadri (Proline)

Senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering volleyball, football and badminton

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think