Yasin Bukala a.k.a ‘Munamasaka’ was in scintillating form at the 4th Mountain Dew Motorcross championships held in Lubiri over the weekend as he convincingly won the all the three rounds of the main MX 1 meet with ease and elegance.
Donning a symbolic Kiganda traditional bark cloth, ‘Olubogo’, Bukala, recorded the maximum 75 points beating a strong challenge from seasoned riders, Arthur Blick Jr, Jesse Kamstra and Hood Ssemugooma.
“Am very excited that a sports icon is now coming from Kyotera in Masaka, I intend to maintain my winning mentality”, a visibly excited Bukala told Kawowo Sports, after fans lifted him in celebrations.
2012 Motorcross Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) Personality, Fortune Ssentamu recovered from a faulty trend in the second round to win the 65 C.C Catergory. Ssentamu, 8, beat Paddy Blick and Wazir Omar to the top accolade with 70 points.
Other winners were Waleed Omar (50 C.C), Alistar Blick (85 C.C ). Talha Kiggundu won the MX 2 category with 72 points having the first and second rounds before coming second in the third round.
Renowned freestyle rider, Jarred Van Vuuren, 18, from South Africa was the main center of attraction at the day long championships as he mesmerized the large crowds with awesome thrills and acts off the bike in the air.
One of Uganda’s music icons, Bebe Cool crowned evening with an energetic performance before a colorful prize giving ceremony capped the day.
The Championships, organized by Speedway Motor Club was proudly sponsored by Crown Beverages under the Mountain Dew brand, Oil giants, Total Uganda, International Hospital Kampala, Photogenix, Safe Solutions, AON, United Assurance Company and IAA.


5O C.C
Waleed Omar (70 points)
Ben Nsumba (69 points)
Aslan Farooq (62 points)
65 C.C
Fortune Ssentamu (70 points)
Paddy Blick (64 Points)
Wazir Omar (64 Points)
85 C.C
Alistar Blick (72 Points)
Ham Kamstra (64 points)
Ali Omar Yasser (64 points)
MX 2
Talha Kiggundu ¬ (72 points)
Fatuh Kiggundu (67 points)
Ntayilo Ssemakula (56 points)
MX 1
Bukala Yasin (75 points)
Jesse Kamstra (64 points)
Hood Semugooma (53 points)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here