A tough test awaits the top amateur golfers including the reigning champion Philip Kasozi and in-form player Willy Deus Kitata, when the 71st Tusker Malt Uganda Open Amateur golf championship tees of at the par 71 Entebbe Golf Club from September 3-7. 

“It’s not going to be an easy Open and guys have written me off going into this championships,” Kasozi said. “Entebbe golf course is totally different and you will have to beat the greens to win it, plus the course however that should not deter my confidence going into the championship.” 

Kasozi is best remembered for winning last year’s open by a three stroke margin having trailed for three days with earlier leader Kitata, collapsing on the final day at the par 72 Kitante golf course.

The soft spoken golfer today is doing a practice round in Entebbe and tomorrow and will return for another round on Saturday and Monday.

“I am looking forward to the Open once again and this time around its in my own backyard the last two editions I collapsed on the way this time around I will do whatever it takes to win it,” Kitata said. “I have learn’t from my lessons from the past championship and have gained the necessary experience ahead of the Open my biggest fear will be losing on my home course. I think Peter Ssendaula and Kasozi are my strongest challengers, but you can’t rule out the rest of the other golfers.”

The other notable player to watch out for will be the 2009 winner Ssendaula, who won the tournament on the 18th hole against then amateur Vincent Byamukama at the Entebbe Golf Club.

Others to watch include Abbey Bagalana, Adolf Muhumuza, Lawrence Muhenda, Ronald Bukenya, Henry Lujja, Patrick Mwaka, Daniel Baguma, Titus Okwong, Happy Robert and the rest.

This year’s event will see the Open swing off on September 3-7 with the Uganda Golf Union event expecting to having participants from Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and also Professionals from Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania and Zambia. 
Last year’s winner in the professionals was Kenya’s Dismus Indiza.

Past Open Winners

2006 Amos Kamya

2007 Nicholas Rokoine

2008 George Olayo

2009 Peter Ssendaula

2010 Brian Mwesigwa

2011 Rogers Byaruhanga

2012 Philip Kasozi 

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think