Defending champion Philip Kasozi, will start his quest for back to back titles at the 71st Tusker Malt Uganda Amateur Golf Championship when he tees off in the company of 2011 and 2009 winners Rogers Byaruhanga and Peter Ssendaula respectively at the Par 71 Entebbe Golf Course on Wednesday.

The trio will tee off as the first pairing at 8.00am on the opening day of action in the gruelling four day tournament which is the premium event on the Uganda Golf Union calendar. Seven minutes later he will two time runner-up and in-form player of the moment Willy Deus Kitata will be paired with Abbey Bagalana and Adolf Muhumuza from Fort Portal.

Other notable players to watch out for include national players Happy Robert, Patrick Mugisha, Lawrence Muhenda, Daniel Baguma, Gideon Kagenzi, Godfrey Mawejje, Henry Lujja, Patrick Mwaka, Ronald Bukenya, Titus Okwong and several others.

This year the professionals will be battling for 40 million that up from last year’s 26 million a total of 25 professionals will share the kitty which is the higest ever played for by the professionals last year’s winner was Dismas Indiza, from Mumias Golf Club.

Uganda Breweries Limited have sunk 100 million Uganda shillings into the tournament and are in their third year of sponsorship of this premium tournament the Late Sadi Onito has won this prestigious tournament for a record 12 times.

Past Open Winners

2006 Amos Kamya

2007 Nicholas Rokoine

2008 George Olayo

2009 Peter Ssendaula

2010 Brian Mwesigwa

2011 Rogers Byaruhanga

2012 Philip Kasozi 

2013 ????

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think