2013 National Pool Champion, Jonah ‘Joker’ Turigye has on Wednesday (11th Sept) officially received his Toyota Progress main gift he won at the National Nile Special Pool Championships.

Flanked by 4 of his sisters, the towering champion, who also won in 2009 looked happy through out the brief but colorful ceremony conducted at 9 Degrees Pub along Kampala Road.

“I am very happy. I am ready to be an exemplary Nile Special Brand Ambassador”, Turigye, who also received a brand new pool table said.

Second runner up, Herman Mutawe, too received his main runners up prize (Pool Table), which he meant to put into commercial use for a livelihood.

Timothy Kayondo praise the winner and urged him to be a true brand ambassordor. “Nile Special is a special beer for champions. You are a champion and you should be like a true champion. Drink Nile Special to be Champions”, he urged amidst wild chants from the guests who attended the 3 hour event.

The guests were served to a tasty buffet and the Nile Special drink  flowed like its source, River Nile till the end of the party.

The event was exclusively organized by Pool Association of Uganda and proudly sponsored by Nile Breweries Limited, under the brand, Nile Special Lager at tune of over Ug shs.134 Million for only 2013 having signed a Ug Shs 1.71 billion 3 year sponsorship in May 2013.

Focus now shifts to the club pool knock outs that will climax this coming weekend at Club Lumas.

All The Nile Special Open Pool Winners:

2002: Bob Menani

2004: Jeff Miiro
2008: Jonan Turigye

2009: Fred Namanya

2010: Jonan Turigye

2011: Ntwari Khalifan

2012: Alfred Gumusiriza

2013: Johan Turigye

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think