Smartly clad in a black suit white shirt and striped tie, George Aporu came to the Uganda Volleyball Federation Awards night with five nominations in total. He left with only two, but one of those was the biggest on Friday night at Grand Global Hotel in Makerere.

Nemostars’ skipper was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) for the 2013 season after coming second behind Nkumba’s Dickens Otim last year. “MVP is an award, l think I really deserve,” Aporu said.

Aporu’s competition came from fellow mates at club Louis Mubangizi, Tom Amou, Smith Okumu. And from national teammates, two-time winner Dickens Otim of Nkumba and KAVC’s Pierre Kamugasha.

Aporu didn’t only lead Nemostars to their second straight league title; he also guided the side to 10 other finals winning seven along the away. “It’s a reward from hard work and I thank my team and coaches,” he added.

He had earlier retained the best attacker gong. “Best attacker is something I really wanted to retain though it was tough season, my power play dropped but the scoring rate stayed above power,” said the 25-year old.

Irene Adeke’s work rate for KAVC all season long couldn’t go unnoticed despite being limited to silverware. She was nominated four times, more than another woman on the night.

She scoped the women’s MVP award head of last year winner Jesca Kaidu, Nkumba’s Astreede Agaaba and Eunice Amuron, together with Christine Alupo, Maureen Mwamula, Saidat Nnungi and Peace Busingye from Ndejje.

Adeke’s efforts on the net took KAVC to their second straight league though they fell short to Ndejje, Adeke was named best block. Otim Dickens and Ambrose Otwao and Diana Agaba were awarded for attaining top seed positions in beach volleyball for men and women respectively.

On the same night Nemostars and Ndejje Elites were decorated with their league medals and trophies

Individual winners at the UVF Awards gala


M: George Aporu (Nemostars) 
W: Irene Adeke (KAVC)

Best receiver

M: John Opejo (Sport-S)

W: Flavia Nandawula (Nkumba)

Best attacker

M: George Aporu (Nemostars)
W: Astreede Agaaba (Nkumba)

Best blocker

M: Dickens Otim (Nkumba)
W: Irene Adeke (KAVC)

Best setter

M: Jesca Kaidu (Ndejje)
W: Smith Okumu (Nemostars)

Best server

M: Richard Tamale (KAVC)
W: Faridah Namajja (Nkumba)

Best Libero

M: Emma Elanyu (KAVC)

W: Flavia Nandawula (Nkumba)

Coach of the year: Anthony Ndawula (Nemostars)

Senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering volleyball, football and badminton

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think