Ronald Ssebuguzi extended his lead at the National Rally Championship (NRC) log after controversially winning the SMC challenge rally over the weekend.

Ssebuguzi completed the 319 km fourth round of the NRC calendar event in one hour, twenty five minutes and one second (1:25:01) beating second placed Wilbert Pole Pole by twelve minutes.

With Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru opting out of the event to up preparations for the Mountain Gorilla Rally Rwanda, it was left to Kansiime to close in on Sebuguzi but he was unlucky to crash out due to a gear box problem thus Sebuguzi now extends lead at the top with 350 points.

Nevertheless, Ssebuguzi’s victory was seen as controversial by many after he was given time in the cancelled Mpanga – Kalagala section after Omar Dauda’s fatal accident yet his opponents had this section cancelled.

If it had been same with all competitors, Wilbert Pole Pole would have claimed victory.

Ronald Ssebuguzi 1:25:01
Wilbert Pole Pole 1:37:36
Peter Kakaire 1;38:49
Albert Ofongo 1:40:07
Black Widow 1:42:08
Dr Ahmed Ashraf 1:42:35
Leila Mayanja 1:51:14
Eddie Mukiibi 1:53:39
Fred Ssenkumba 1:59:35
Ernest Wasswa ,,2:16:45
Abdul Katete: 2:18:24
Christopher Kasozi  2:22;06


Ronald Ssebuguzi 351 points

Jonas Kansiime 208 points

Duncan Mubiru 185 points

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think