Sunday Results
Bowl Quarter Finals
Uganda 35-0 Malaysia

Bowl Semi Finals
Canada 32-0 Uganda

The Uganda Rugby Cranes Sevens team was denied Bowl Competition finals’ slot by Canada in the Commonwealth Rugby Sevens on Sunday despite having earlier progressed with a 35-0 thrashing of Malaysia in the quarter finals at Ibrox Stadium, Glasgow.

Cranes failed to put up a single point against their opponents for the second time, as the Canadians proceeded to the final, winning the Bowl Competition with a 50-7 victory over Cook Islands.

Uganda 35-0 Malaysia 
Earlier, Malaysia that had succumbed to three overwhelming group stage defeats against Paupa New Guinea, Samoa and Wales on Saturday, was further condemned to another annihilation by Uganda who were rampant, scoring five tries accompanied by successful conversions each.

Team inspiration Michael Wokorach crossed twice, along with impressive and brilliant Emmanuel Ecodu, Benon Kizza, and Phillip Pariyo who followed with a try each. James Ijongat, and Jasper Ochen kicked through twice each, Kizza perfecting the fifth for Uganda’s second victory in the tournament.

Gold Medal Final
South Africa 17-12 New Zealand

Meanwhile, South Africa beat New Zealand 17-12 in the final of the rugby Sevens at Ibrox Stadium, ending their previously unmatched gold winning streak at the tournament since 1998.

South Africa who displayed class and pace to claim glory became the first nation to win commonwealth rugby Sevens gold other than New Zealand.

Bronze Medal Final
Australia 24-0 Samoa

Plate Final
Wales 15-17 England

Bowl Competition Final
Cook Islands 7-50 Canada

Sheild Final
Trinidad and Tobago 43-7 Sri Lanka

Deputy Editor at Kawowo Sports. He is an aspiring Sport Psychologist.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply