Saturday Results:

Shield Final: Sheraton Stallions 34-10 Jinja Hippos

Main Cup Final: Kobs 08-10 Protector Heathens

Protector Heathens emerged 2014 Uganda Cup Champions on Saturday, as the side ended their long trophy drought.

Premiership defending Champions Kobs tussled at Legends Rugby Grounds to dominate proceedings in the first minutes and eventually had Heathens on the conceding end when James Ijongat delivered through a well taken penalty for an early lead.

Heathens hit back, though, as Phillip Wokorach kicked through to level the scores at 03-03 after a quite prolonged spell of big hits drama that had the fans at their feet.

Neither of the sides successfully bulldozed their way through the stiff and well organised challenges until the second half as Alex Mubiru proved unbeatable in the Heathens line.

Coach Allan Musoke’s Kobs struggled to regain momentum at restart when the side almost crumbled to pressure from a hungry Heathens outfit. Kobs were penalized for failure to release after tackling before extending the point gap a couple of minutes later. Asaba Brian stretched Heathens defence with quick hands scoring a try for a successive 03-08 Kobs lead.

James Ijongat missed the conversion as Heathens turned rampant with numerous waves of attack. Kobs lost their precious lead at the death of the encounter following Jasper Ochen’s heartbreaking try and Phillip Wokorach’s conversion that completed the victory for Heathens.

Protector Heathens and Sheraton Stallions were crowned Main Cup and Shield 2014 Uganda Cup Champions respectively.

Uganda Cup Winners:

1999 Heathens

2000 Heathens

2001 Heathens

2002 Heathens

2003 Heathens

2004 Heathens

2005 Kobs

2006 Kobs

2007 Pirates

2008 Kobs

2009 Heathens

2010 Kobs

2011 Kobs

2012 Kobs

2013 Heathens

2014 Heathens

Deputy Editor at Kawowo Sports. He is an aspiring Sport Psychologist.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think