3rd Independence Day Golf Tourney: Overall Winner: Davis Kashaka – 34 Stable Ford Points

Handicap 2 golfer, Dr. Davis Kashaka confessed winning the 2014 Pepsi Independence day golf tourney at the 9 hole Palm Valley Course took him by surprise.

The Ugandan born golfer now based in Rwanda returned 34 stable ford points to claim the overall prize at the 3rd edition of the Independence day golf tourney held at Palm Valley Golf Course in Kakungulu Estates, off Entebbe road.

“I am delighted for my shock victory especially given the fact that it falls on the 52nd edition of Uganda’s independence anniversary” a visibly excited Kashaka told the 19th hole congregation.

En-route to his victory, Kashaka registered only one birdie score on hole 13, two double bogies and maintained par scores for the rest of the holes.

State Minister for Fisheries, Ruth Nankabirwa congratulated all the winners as she handled the winning prizes (trophy, 32 Inch LG Television set and Mukwano table) to the overall winner.

Over 180 golfers braved the early morning rains to take part in the daylong event that followed the earlier two day’s professionals’ action.

Entebbe Club based Pro golfer, Vicent Byamukama won the professionals’ event that had 11 golfers of the total 18 making the cut for the U.shs 12M prize money staked by the sponsors.

Other Winners:

Robinson Lutwama won group A, beating Isaac Kisembo on count back after the two golfers tied 34 stable ford points apiece.

Jadu Patel took group B, Paul Nsereko won the group C accolades while Flavia Namakula was the best group B lady golfer with 30 points.

Musician, Jose Chameleon thrilled the golfers at the 19th hole who dined, danced and wined till the wee hours of Friday morning.

Happy Uhuru and Congs the Winners.

All Winners:

Overall Winner: Davis Kashaka – 34 Stable Ford Points


Group A:

Winner: Robinson Lutwama – 34 Points (Count Back)

1st Runners Up: Isaac Kisembo – 34 Points

2nd Runners up: Solo Kego – 32 Points (Count Back)

Group B:

Winner:  Jadu Patel -32 Points

Runners Up:  Joseph Bagabo – 31 Points

2nd Runners Up: Amos Nzeyi – 29 Points

Group C:

Winner: Paul Nsereko – 29 Points

1st Runners Up: Joseph Nkuriziza – 28 Points

2nd Runners Up: Andrew Nzeyi – 27 Points


Group A:

 Winner: Flavia Namakula – 30 Points

Runners Up: Evelyn Assimwe – 29 Points

Group  B:

Winner: Samali Naikuba – 24 Points (Count Back)

Runners up: -Alis Groot (From Netherlands) – 24

Top 11 Professionals:

1- Vicent Byamukama [73, 74; Total: 147]

2- Denis Anguyo [73, 76 ; Total :149 ]

3- Herman Mutawe [73, 77; Total : 150]

4 – Godfrey Mande [77, 74; Total: 151]

5 – George Olayo [75, 77; Total: 152]

6  – Saidi Mawa [76, 77 ; Total: 153]

T7-  Opio Onito [76, 78; Total: 154]

T7 – Steven Odong [78,76; Total : 154]

T9 – Deo Akope [78, 77; Total: 155]

T9 – Fred Wanzala [80, 75; Total: 155]

T9 – Silver Opio [81, 74; Total: 154]

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply