2014 Africa Blackball Championships: 16th-19th October
Ubungo Plaza, Dar es Salaam Tanzania.

Uganda’s State Minister of Sports, Hon Charles Bakabulindi has flagged off the national pool Cranes teams for Tanzania on Wednesday.

“I wish you a successful journey to Tanzania and fruitful deliberations at the tournament” Bakabulindi remarked at a brief send off function held at the national council of Sports premises in Lugogo, Kampala. 16 players (8 from the men and women teams) depart Kampala for Dar es Salaam aboard Simba Bus.

The Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) technical team recently named the national men’s and ladies’ squads to represent Uganda in the 2014 AAPA Africa Blackball Championships and the world pool blackball championships later this month.

12 nations are expected at this year’s championships that will take place at the Ubungo Plaza in the heart of Dar es Salaam city. This tournament is scheduled for 16th–19th of October 2014.

Hosts Tanzania will be joined by the defending champions, South Africa, Kenya, Lesotho, Morocco, Namibia, Cameroon, Swaziland, Mozambique, Zambia and Uganda. The same teams shall also represent Uganda in the 2014 WPA World Blackball Championships scheduled for 25th–31st October 2014 in Perth, Scotland.

Uganda together with South Africa and Libya are the only countries that shall represent the African Continent at the World Championships. “We are not going to Tanzania for Tourism, we are there for competition”, Head Coach, Eddy Nkoyoyo said.

The Teams
The men’s team will be skippered by Rock Catalina Pool Club Chairman and PAU Seed 8, Oscar Ocakacon while Indigo’s Zaimati Nabafu will captain the ladies side.

The men’s side will tap into the prowess of the 2014 National Pool Open Champion Fahad Ssewankambo and the 2014 Master of the Table Champion Amos Ndyagumanawe.

The other players on the men’s side include seed 2 Joseph Mutawe, seed 3 Alfred Gumikiriza, seed 4 Salongo Uthman Bukenya, Seed 5 Jonan Turigye, and Seed 6 Sula Matovu.

The ladies team shall capitalize on the form and experience of the 2014 PAU Queen Victoria Namuyanja and the 2014 Master of the Table Champion Jacinta Kajubi.

Other members on the ladies team include Seed 3 Ritah Nimusiima, Seed 5 Carolina Kyampaire Kanzira, Seed 6 Sharon Mirembe, Seed 7 Shamim Nalugwa, and Seed 8 Rehemah Nanyondo.

The speed pool event starts tomorrow and Uganda will most definitely miss out on it as they will still be in transit. The team and singles events start Friday.

The teams:
Oscar Ocacakon (Captain), Fahad Ssewankambo, Amos Ndyagumanawe, Joseph Mutawe, Alfred Gumikiriza, Salongo Uthman Bukenya, Jonan Turigye, and Sula Matovu.

Zaimati Nabafu (Captain), Victoria Namuyanja, Jacinta Kajubi, Ritah Nimusiima, Carolina Kyampaire Kanzira, Sharon Mirembe, Shamim Nalugwa, and Rehemah Nanyondo.

Head Coach: Eddy Nkoyoyo Other
Officials: Farouk Kisuze Wamala (President), David Benjamin Mugabe (Team Manager), Robert Kayanja (Organizing Secretary), Michael Mawanda (Publicity), Douglas Mayanja (Treasurer)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply